Neon Swallowtail

11 Jul

Hey there friends.

DSC07851

I just sat down and created this thing for y’all (and for my own enjoyment, obvs). Wasn’t really sure where I was going with it besides that I wanted a neon cut crease. Welp, I guess in that regard I succeeded.swallowtail 2DSC07836

I have to say, that neon yellow from the Sleek Acid palette is just a bitch to work with. Anyone considering the palette, a gentle suggestion to have a good eyeshadow base on hand, and about a gallon liter of patience. Hmm, maybe that’s not enough. Like 4 liters then. I don’t really understand the metric system.

swallowtail 3

I just got a new lighted mirror, and it seems to function remarkably like a ring light for taking pictures late at night (it was about ten when I took these). Counting my lucky stars here, because usually pictures snapped that late turn out looking like something I scraped off the bottom of my shoe.DSC07856 DSC07860

Lol side eye strong.swallowtail 4

Oh, right, I totally demolished this look after the first set of pics, Makeupmouse style. Not that I could ever hope to emulate her mastery of chaos, but I certainly tried. The drips were created by smashing a very wet brush loaded with pigment into my eyebrow, and the splatter by flicking the bristles at my eyeball’s general direction. Very technical, I know.

DSC07871

I was so pleased with my blending for this look, so have one more particularly quirky collage.

swallowtail

Products used:

♦ eBay iMagic Flash Color Case (yellow base)

♦ Sleek Acid Palette (neon yellow)

♦ Sugarpill Pigment in Royal Sugar (for drippy drips and splatters)

♦ L’Oreal Silkissime Eyeliner in Black

♦ Physicians Formula Eye Booster Pen

♦ L’Oreal Miss Manga Rock Mascara

Thoughts?

xx Olive

Follow me around! I post a bunch of blog previews and other neat junk.

♦ Instagram @eyehavealotoffeelings

♦ Twitter @olivesfeelings

9 Responses to “Neon Swallowtail”

  1. Catherine Dream July 19, 2015 at 12:42 pm #

    I love love love the contrast between the dark outline and the yellow – such a cool effect.

    • Olivia July 19, 2015 at 1:31 pm #

      Why thank you milady!

  2. giesenuser July 11, 2015 at 3:16 pm #

    1 gallon is 3.8 liters. hope this was helpful

    • Olivia July 12, 2015 at 12:35 pm #

      Extremely thank you

  3. cellardoor2014 July 11, 2015 at 12:32 pm #

    I’m super impressed with your blending as well, nothing went muddy! And the sleek acid palette is…difficult to blend to say the least. It’s like actual chalk.

    I really love this one a lot 🙂

    • Olivia July 11, 2015 at 2:08 pm #

      Aww thank you so much!! Yeah that kvd palette is a breeze for blending ❤
      No kidding! Everyone raves about it but gosh if I'd known how the quality would be…nope, still would've gotten it 🙂

      • cellardoor2014 July 11, 2015 at 4:15 pm #

        Haha yep. The green in that palette is so dang bright and gorgeous. Applies soooooo bad but it’s so pretty.

  4. Midwest Prep Girl July 11, 2015 at 9:56 am #

    Love this!!!

Think inside the box!

