Duochrome 20s Smokey Eye

28 Nov

Hello, friends! Today I wanted to do makeup that was sorta ugly, sorta pretty, and all the way weird.

I had to start by lightening my eyebrows. I think if my hair were medium brown or dark blond these would be the bees’ knees…for my brown-almost-black hair, they look like I bleached them ugly. Whatever. I wanted the brows to be lighter than the makeup for once.duochrome collage

I just picked up this gorgeous Charmed palette from Pacifica, which has all these interesting sheer duochrome eyeshadows that look AH-MA-ZING over a black cream base. I picked a pink one, because I like to look like I have an eye infection on Thanksgiving.duochrome collage 2

For the next touch of weird, I brought the darker shades up to the start of my eyebrow like a 1920s flapper smokey eye. I don’t think I did a very good job of it, but there you go. It’s supposed to look sad…mine just sorta looks like I don’t know how to apply eyeshadow.

duochrome collage 3

Here’s a couple with flash. See the sparkle. Feel the sparkle. Be the sparkle.duochrome collage 4

 

Products used:

♦ Rimmel Scandaleyes Shadow Stick in Blackmail (This sucker does not come off. Like, ever.)

♦ Pacifica Charmed Palette: Charming

♦ L’Oreal Infallible Silkissime Eyeliner in Highlighter (for waterline and upper lashline)

♦ Wet ‘n Wild Eyeshadow in Panther

♦ Urban Decay Pulp Fiction Palette: Righteous, Tyranny

♦ Rimmel Scandaeyes Rockin’ Curves Mascara

For the brows, I ran a spooly with concealer through to lighten them, then filled them in with Maybelline Define-a-Brow Pencil in Light Brown. This pencil is PERFECT: extremely thin tip, twist up, good formula, everything, EXCEPT THEY DISCONTINUED ALL THE DARKER SHADES. WHAT. WHAT. I AM OUTRAGED. FEEL MY CAPSLOCK WRATH, MAYBELLINE.

But for real? The only other eyebrow pencil I like is the Anastasia Brow Wiz and that costs 21 freakin’ bucks. No thank you.

(Rant over.)

Thoughts? Happy late Thanksgiving, by the way 🙂

Olive



Follow me around! I post a bunch of blog previews and other neat junk.

♦ Instagram @eyehavealotoffeelings

♦ Twitter @olivesfeelings

4 Responses to “Duochrome 20s Smokey Eye”

  1. carolinecocker November 28, 2014 at 1:29 pm #

    Ooo I loooove this. It’s like a reverse smokey eye.
    Apparently soap and glory have a new Archery eyebrow thing that’s a dupe for Brow Wiz (although I don’t know if it’s available outside the UK and even over here it’s never in stock -although I suppose if it’s a good dupe people will stock up). X

    • Olivia November 28, 2014 at 2:16 pm #

      Thanks!!! I thought it might be a little out there but I figured I’d post it anyways 🙂
      OMG REALLY??? I would cry with happiness if I could find a good dupe. Thank you!!

  2. thinklovemakeup November 28, 2014 at 12:29 pm #

    I like this look, its different, I like white liners as it gives a nice spin. Steph x

    • Olivia December 9, 2014 at 3:49 pm #

      Thank you!! It is a bit different, but experimenting with makeup is my favorite thing, even if it doesn’t always come out as glamorous as I’d like it 🙂

Think inside the box!

