REVIEW | NYX Macaron Lipsticks

23 Aug

Hello, all! So I’ve had the NYX Macaron Lipsticks for a while, and I’ve been debating getting the entire line…time for a review! Ok, technically they’re called “lippies,” but I’m going to pretend that never happened.

To kick off this review, here’s some swatches and a gradient lip I created using all 4 of the lipsticks I purchased.

nyx lippie collage

Blue Velvet (blue) is a bright blue shade with excellent pigmentation and smooth texture. It’s not necessary to blank out your lips with concealer before applying this color, but it does help get the most true-to-color application. Pistachio (mint) is a beautiful mint green. The pigmentation is almost as good as Blue Velvet, but I did blank out my lips with concealer considering green is as far from red on the color wheel as you can get. Chambord (black) applies the best out of these 4, and I’m so excited to have such a nice black in my collection! Coconut (white) is the patchiest of the lot, which I knew before I purchased it, but it’s fantastic for mixing with other lip colors to lighten them. I made a pretty fantastic grey using Coconut and Chambord…

I’ve been too lazy to do all 4 lip swatches, but here’s the (heavily edited) photo from the NYX website.

I’d recommend doing your research (“research” hereby defined as binge-watching Youtube reviews) to figure out which colors are the most pigmented in the line. It also might be helpful to match your skin undertones with the colors themselves. If you have a cool undertone, blues and greens would looks better on you; vice versa for orange and yellow.

Shoot me a comment if you enjoyed this review or if you have any suggestions for future tutorials, reviews, and tags; I’d love to hear them! Would you wear these colors? More importantly…would you wear them out?

Olive



Follow me around! I post a bunch of blog previews and other neat junk.

♦ Instagram @eyehavealotoffeelings

♦ Twitter @olivesfeelings

8 Responses to “REVIEW | NYX Macaron Lipsticks”

  1. EyeOfTheBeholder August 25, 2014 at 9:38 am #

    For some reason I don’t mind when British people use the term lippies, but when Americans do it gives me the heebiejeebies, don’t ask me why, that’s just how it is 🙂

    • Olivia August 26, 2014 at 10:45 am #

      Haha alright, good thing I didn’t then 🙂

  2. asouthernceliac August 23, 2014 at 10:43 am #

    Pistachio is such a pretty color!

    • Olivia August 26, 2014 at 10:45 am #

      Thank you!! It’s my favorite too 🙂

  3. Maria B August 23, 2014 at 10:36 am #

    OK, these are adorable! Pistachio being my favourite. Love the transitioning lip look you did 🙂

    • Olivia August 26, 2014 at 10:45 am #

      Mine too! Thanks, I did it about 0.01 seconds after I got the lipsticks, I was so excited to try them 😀

  4. makeuplovelu August 23, 2014 at 9:38 am #

    This is different but its cute !!

Think inside the box!

