♥ July Favorites ♥ + 1 thing I hated

4 Aug

Hello, all! July’s over, summer’s over, LIFE IS OVER.

Just kidding. One more month, guys, why the complainin?

And now, for my first monthly favorite….

♦ L’Oreal Silkissime Eyeliner in Cobalt Blue

The formula of this eyeliner is so creamy and intense, I’m completely infatuated. Planning to pick up more colors soon, but for the moment I’ve got this gorgeous cobalt that I believe could be a dupe for Urban Decay’s 24/7 Liner in Chaos…maybe a tad darker.

♦ Sleek Makeup Sunset Palette

I’ve kinda lusted after this palette forever, buttttt I told myself I didn’t need it.

Well, I wasn’t wrong. However, not the point! Of all (4) of my Sleek palettes, this one has the best overall pigmentation and texture. It does seem to have a few repeat colors, but they’re beautiful, so I don’t mind. My favorite color in it, oddly enough, is the pink-gold duochrome in the bottom row.

You thought it was gonna be the blue, didn’t cha? 😀

Here’s the link to this sunset look I did last month.
sunset collage 2

 

For once in my life, I actually tried some skincare stuff this month. I usually am quite reluctant to change up my routine at all, so snaps for me.

♦ Neutrogena Deep Moisture Night Cream

Yeah, it’s moisturizer. But moisturizer is a toughie subject for me because of my hopelessly oily skin that somehow manages to be incredibly dry at the same time. Gross. I use this at night (no duh) and I honestly feel that after I wash my face in the morning, I don’t need moisturizer. I still apply it because wrinkles are bad, but this definitely does the job of keep my skin hydrated 24/7.

Side note: it’s also pretty cheap at around $12. Would I buy anything else?

Yes, yes I would. 

♦ L’Oreal Anti-Redness Skin Primer

Not technically skincare, but it, er, goes on your skin. I’ve never used a green primer before, but I’ve been using this every day for a few months and it does the job of reducing redness (especially on my cheeks) so I don’t have to bother with BB Cream and whatnot. It’s not a miracle worker, but it helps on the days that I don’t want to wear anything else on my skin.

The only thing I don’t think about this is that it leaves my skin rather tacky. This might help if you were to apply foundation over the top, but I just add powder, and it’s a bit weird. Ah, well. It’s still nice.

And, since I don’t really want to do a full review on it, here’s a thing that I absolute hated this month!

♦ Physicians Formula Organic Wear Jumbo Mascara

You can see it in action in this look, but it is neither volumizing nor lengthening, it smells funny, and I’m bitter about it because it tempted me with its shiny green tube. Thumbs down, Physicians Formula.

Shoot me a comment if you enjoyed this post or if you have any suggestions for future tutorials, reviews, and tags; I’d love to hear them! What was a favorite of yours this month?

Olive



Follow me around! I post a bunch of blog previews and other neat junk.

♦ Instagram @eyehavealotoffeelings

♦ Twitter @olivesfeelings

4 Responses to “♥ July Favorites ♥ + 1 thing I hated”

  1. acasualbeauty August 5, 2014 at 11:38 am #

    Nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award 🙂 Details here! http://acasualbeauty.wordpress.com/2014/08/05/one-lovely-blog-award/

  2. Catherine Dream August 5, 2014 at 8:59 am #

    That eyeliner sounds good! The only one I own and use is Rimmel Exaggerate in turquoise… But I’d love something purple or blue. : ) Hm.

  3. jasmincharlotte August 4, 2014 at 11:30 am #

    Ohh I love that eye look! Such great colours. I want to try that loreal eye liner too – I was hoping for an urban decay dupe! X

    http://www.jasmincharlotte.com

    • Olivia August 4, 2014 at 7:28 pm #

      Thank you!! You should, it definitely is comparable quality to Urban Decay. I want to grab the black one so I can compare it to Perversion 🙂

Think inside the box!

