REVIEW: Milani Bella Eyes Gel Powder Eyeshadows

3 Aug

DSC04146

Hello, all! I’ve heard a bunch of hype lately about the Milani Bella Eyes Single Eyeshadows lately, and since they’re only $3.99 on the Milani website, I took the liberty of grabbing a few to share with you.

Many of the shades, although completely gorgeous, were colors I already owned 3 times over (you know how it goes, especially with neutrals…can’t get enough of them), so I tried to rein myself in a bit. I got Bella Emerald, Bella Ivory, Bella Violet, Bella Diamond, and Bella Mandarin (L-R).

(Swatches are 1-2 swipes on bare skin.)bella eyes collage

Bella Emerald (shimmer) is a gorgeous deep green with a gold sheen. Bella Ivory (satin matte) is a subtle champagne highlight. Bella Violet (shimmer) is a bright light purple with a blue sheen. Bella Diamond (highlighter/shimmer) is a whiter, brighter version of Bella Ivory. And lastly, Bella Mandarin (satin matte) is a very unique medium orange.

As for the texture…meh. I’m not really seeing the gel-to-powder claims here. They are smooth, creamy shadows, butttt they’re not THE BEES KNEES in terms of texture. I dunno, maybe I’m too critical, but I was expecting fireworks exploding in the fire of my love for these things, and I got solid but not incredible shadows.

Out of the shades that I got, I’d say Bella Emerald and Bella Mandarin are the standout shades in terms of pigmentation and color, but it’s nice to have a few staple highlighters as well as a gorgeous purple. I was also eyeing Bella Navy until I realized that the dark blue shade from Wet ‘n Wild’s Blue Had Me At Hello palette is a spot-on dupe. Whoops. If you don’t have that one, though, Bella Navy is gorgeous.

Here’s another round of swatches, this time with flash! Look at dat gold. DSC04154

 

And that’s all I got for these puppies! Have you tried any of Milani’s Bella Eyes Eyeshadows?

Shoot me a comment if you enjoyed this review or if you have any suggestions for future tutorials, reviews, and tags; I’d love to hear them!

Olive



Follow me around! I post a bunch of blog previews and other neat junk.

♦ Instagram @eyehavealotoffeelings

♦ Twitter @olivesfeelings

3 Responses to “REVIEW: Milani Bella Eyes Gel Powder Eyeshadows”

  1. makeupandfreckles August 3, 2014 at 8:33 am #

    Ooh that green. Gorgeous!

    • Olivia August 4, 2014 at 8:23 am #

      Right?! It applies perfectly as well, I sense a green smokey eye coming up soon…:D

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Makeup for Work: Mandarin ft. Milani Bella Eyes | Eye Have A Lot of Feelings - August 6, 2014

    […] recently bought Milani’s Bella Mandarin eyeshadow (review on those here) and I wanted to use it in a look contrasting with blue liner, because blue liner is my […]

Think inside the box!

