10 Makeup Tips I Wish Someone Had Hammered Into Me Sooner

22 Jul

Hello, all! Got some life advices for you today, complete with a battery of fantastic Supernatural gifs.

How does that differ from the norm, you ask? I dunno, but…Supernatural gifs!

1. Everything you need to know is on Youtube.

If you added up the hours I’ve spent mindlessly watching tutorials of things I already know how to do, you’d have half my lifespan.

2. There are no unfixable mistakes.

It’s MAKEUP, come on. Just dip a cutip in makeup remover and try to contain your tears.

gross sobbing sam

3. If you like it, wear it.

If thick black gel liner is your THANG, then by all means, go for it. If you hate makeup because you firmly believe it violates the RULES OF FEMINISM, you know where you can shove that stick.

4. Quality, not quantity…except as a beginner.

When I started out with makeup, I bought $150 worth of e.l.f. If you know e.l.f, you know that that is a SH*T TON of e.l.f. And I needed to do that, I needed to buy a bright blue loose pigment that I had no idea how to use, and I needed a mascara primer even though I did not own a single mascara, and don’t even talk to me about the lipglosses that tasted like fermented Kool-aid.

Now, I try to reel it in, to read reviews, to consider how many hours of cash register adds up to the cost of the new Lorac palette (5 1/4), and to mercilessly throw out makeup that I no longer use (side-eye at e.l.f.). As a result, my makeup collection is composed of, for the most part, products that I enjoy and would recommend to others. This will not happen overnight, and it will not happen without a fair amount of sacrifice. And tears.

no one likes it dean and cas

5. Acne, brazenly uncooperative eyebrows, redness, puffy eyes, etc. are not things to be ashamed of.

They are not mistakes that require an apology. They are there to remind us that we are human, to make us better at what we do, and to eventually accept as features, not flaws.

…Still waiting on that last one…

6. There are things you just need to master, and eyeliner is one of them.

sorry cas

Call it a work in progress (I do!).

7. There are things that you can let slide, and no one will notice.

Mascara dots on your eyelid? Psh girl, if somebody is that close to you, their tongue is probably in your mouth and they don’t care if you can’t apply mascara.

8. Photography is hard. Makeup photography requires selling your house and your soul to Lucifer to pay for a good camera.

But it’s so totally worth it.

Right? RIGHT?!

9. Everyone has something to teach, and everyone has something to learn. 

So philosophy. Much wise.

10. I’m kidding. I got no ten. Ten is for you. Fill in the blank (____________) in the comments below 🙂

Welp, this is going downhill fast.

Shoot me a comment if you enjoyed this post or if you have any suggestions for future tutorials, reviews, and tags; I’d love to hear them!

Olive

Follow me around! I post a bunch of blog previews and other neat junk. 

♦ Instagram @eyehavealotoffeelings

♦ Twitter @olivesfeelings

17 Responses to “10 Makeup Tips I Wish Someone Had Hammered Into Me Sooner”

  1. Catherine Dream July 31, 2014 at 9:16 am #

    So much wise, Yolive (a hybrid of Yoda and Olive, duh).

    Agreed. Also, I waste my time watching things I already know being taught on YouTube too. It’s bad. And I cannot pass by a video of face contouring without watching it. Just. No.

    Harrumpf. Nicely said about flaws, but hard to live by. Very.

    Also, 6&7 – they’re why I love you : D

    • Olivia July 31, 2014 at 10:30 am #

      Yolive. I’ll start putting that on my papers 🙂 Hehe thanks 😀

  2. anastasiias July 30, 2014 at 11:01 am #

    7 made me laugh! You are definitely right! 🙂

    • Olivia July 30, 2014 at 11:53 am #

      Hahaha thank you 😀

  3. Matromao July 22, 2014 at 10:47 pm #

    Youtube is a godsend! The other day, I was close to buying this expensive makeup manual, but I was talked out of it by my friend. Everything is on youtube. Everything.

    10. Have a set of infallible go-to makeup pieces that can create your most basic everyday look.

    • Olivia July 22, 2014 at 10:49 pm #

      So true!! That 10 is perfect, I was trying to be a bit silly with this post but I completely agree. Sometimes I’ll look around at my collection and realize I’m missing something vital, which necessitates a trip to the store, which ends in me buying more makeup…whoops 😀

Think inside the box!

