I ♥ Drugstore Makeup Tag

30 Jun

Hello, all! I saw Soph from Little Bit Soph do this tag the other day and I must admit, I got tag envy. Is that a thing? Considering I do most of my makeup spending damage at my local Target and Walgreens, this tag was basically created for me.

Welp, let’s get started with these questions!

1. What is your favorite drugstore makeup brand overall?

I actually think about this question fairly often, and I’d have to say NYX. I can’t live without their Jumbo Eye Pencils, their Studio Liquid Liners are fantastically pigmented and long-lasting, and they have a huge variety of amazing lip products. Their eyeshadows are fairly decent for drugstore as well.

Revlon is also excellent for lip products, but their eyeshadows can be rather meh. I’d look to L’Oreal Infallible and Wet ‘n Wild for those 🙂

DSC01781

This gorgeous deep blue is from Wet ‘n Wild’s Color Icon Palette in Blue Had Me At Hello

That was the abbreviated answer, I’m afraid 🙂

2. Favorite face, cheek, and lip products?

Face: I love the Maybelline Fit Me Concealer. I am usually between Fair and Light (the lightest and second lightest shades) depending on how tan I am, which can get annoying, but the consistency is great and it will last all day if set with powder.

Cheek: I don’t wear a lot of blush, but when I do, I reach for the Wet ‘n Wild Color Icon Blushes, which have fantastic pigmentation.

My favorite contouring product for fair, fair, VERY VERY FAIR skin (me) is the Maybelline Fit Me Pressed Powder in Coconut, a darker powder shade with no awkward orange undertones like most bronzers. If you can’t get ahold of this, NYX Blush in Taupe is a good dupe.

DSC03339

Here I’ve used it for a natural contour that isn’t too harsh

Lip: Oh. Oh damn. Hold up, lemme think. I think the Revlon Lip Butters are my most-worn lip products ever; I have at least 5 shades and I swap them out for school constantly. When I have a bit more time and the luxury of touching up somewhere other than a school bathroom, I love the Sonia Kashuk lipsticks, which smell like cake.

DSC03218

Wearing Sonia Kashuk Satin Luxe Lip Color in Nude Pink- great nude lip color that doesn’t wash me out! Those dark circles, on the other hand…:\

NYX and Maybelline compete for the best drugstore lipglosses with their Butter Glosses and Color Elixirs, both of which smell like Willy Wonka’s entire life. My absolute die-hard favorite red is e.l.f’s Matte Lip Color in Rich Red (see it in action in my prom look here).

3. Least favorite product?

The Revlon ColorStay eyeshadow quads are terrible. Blehck. Horrible pigmentation. Bit of a controversial one here, but the Maybelline The Falsies Mascara has a fantastic application but will flake ALLLLLL over my face within a few hours, as well as some unwelcome smudges under my lower lashline. Can you not. E.l.f. also has some fantastically bad eyeshadows, but they’re improving their products quite a bit lately, so I’m not going to judge.

4. Best makeup bargain?

Rimmel’s Waterproof Kohl Kajal eyeliners are some of the best pencil liners on the market for only $4! Comparable to Urban Decay for sure, although a bit lacking in the shade range.

5. Favorite underdog product? (Something you love that often gets overlooked)

The Physicians Formula Eye Booster liquid eyeliner is the best liquid liner I’ve ever tried. The formula is incredibly long lasting, to the point where it’s difficult to remove, and the brush has an incredibly thin, flexible tip for the most precise application ever. PLUS the tube is shiny. I know, I’ve just sold it to ya 🙂

DSC02234

I use the Eye Booster in basically every dramatic eye look I do- it just works so well for thin, sharp winged eyeliner!

6. An overpriced drugstore product?

I would say the Physicians Formula Eye Booster is a bit pricey for the drugstore, but it’s so worth it. The Maybelline Color Elixirs are also pricey for a lipgloss, but they’re so pigmented…sigh. I can rationalize any price :\

7. Best drugstore dupes?

I don’t buy a lot of high-end products besides eyeshadows, so I don’t have a lot to compare to my drugstore favorites. I guess I’ll reiterate that the Rimmel eyeliners are just as fantastic as the Urban Decay ones.

8. Drugstore product that isn’t worth the hype?

Maybelline Baby Skin Instant Pore Eraser. Did not erase pores. Did not stop oil. The NYX Shine Killer was also disappointing, but not as hyped. I think my skin is just hopeless.

Anywho, this was a fun tag. If you’re experiencing tag envy as well, go for it! I love reading these things 🙂

Shoot me a comment if you enjoyed this tag or if you have any suggestions for future posts, I’d love to hear them!

Olive

Follow me around! I post a bunch of blog previews and other neat junk. 

♦ Instagram @eyehavealotoffeelings

♦ Twitter @olivesfeelings

10 Responses to “I ♥ Drugstore Makeup Tag”

  1. Kayla Sanchez July 1, 2014 at 10:56 am #

    That really colorful look is still one of my favorites that you’ve done *heart eyes* THE BLUEEEE!

    • Olivia July 1, 2014 at 4:34 pm #

      Thank you 😀 I’ll have to use it more often, most of the time it just chills in my desk 😦

  2. Maria B July 1, 2014 at 7:09 am #

    Fun tag! I use mostly drugstore and I can relate, I think the worst drugstore brand is L’Oreal though 0_o nyx makes far better stuff!

    • Olivia July 1, 2014 at 1:35 pm #

      I agree, I have some skin stuff from there but on the whole their mascaras/eyeshadows/lip products are kinda meh. I wish my Target would stock the NYX Macaron lipsticks, I’ve seen so many reviews on those and I’m dying to get some 🙂

  3. thedomesticdivadiaries June 30, 2014 at 12:18 pm #

    It’s easy to forget that drugstore products are seriously just as good as MAC/Sephora/Ulta etc. thanks for sharing 🙂

    X jenna

    • Olivia July 1, 2014 at 12:14 am #

      No kidding! Just not as pretty to look at sometimes…but that’s no excuse 🙂

  4. みらい June 30, 2014 at 9:19 am #

    Have you tried Milani products? Their eyeliners are blackest black I’ve ever used…it’s not as creamy as Urban Decay’s but it’s the perfect (maybe even better) dupe for perversion eyeliner pencils. Also, their eyebrow kits are good as well!

    • Olivia June 30, 2014 at 10:04 am #

      I tried their products for about a week before Target got rid of the brand…sad day! I’ve heard they’re really good though so I might look for them online, thanks for the recommedation!

      • みらい July 1, 2014 at 3:31 pm #

        I know some CVS has this brand, and also at my local Jewel Osco, hope this helps!

        • Olivia July 1, 2014 at 3:37 pm #

          Thanks! I’ll look into it!

Think inside the box!

