My Favorite Makeup Brushes

24 Jun

Makeup brushes: something you can never have enough of.

Eye Brushes:

1. Sonia Kashuk Medium Eye Shadow Brush No. 103 ♥ $5.99 @ Target or SK website

This brush is a flat shader designed to pack eyeshadow on the lid. What sets it apart from any other flat shader brush is its incredible softness and flexibility. When I’m in a rush, I can use the end of this to blend the edges of my eyeshadow, which is pretty sweet. The flexibility also allows me to get all the way to the inner corner of my eye. Miraculous (and cheap!).

2. Sonia Kashuk Small Eye Shadow Brush No. 106 ♥ $4.99 @ Target or SK website

This brush is a small, slightly less flexible version of the No. 103 brush above. I like it for applying shadow to smaller lids or for precision in the inner corner.

3. ELLE Cosmetics Makeup Fluff Brush ♥ $12.00 @ Kohls

This brush changed my makeup life (so basically my whole life). It’s a traditionally sized and shaped blending brush, but it just works so well. Why spend $20+ on a blending brush when there’s a quality brush at Kohls?

4. e.l.f. Studio Contour Brush ♥ $3.00 @ eyeslipsface

This brush is perfect for applying shadow into the crease. It’s stiffer and denser than a normal blending brush and the hairs are shorter, so it won’t diffuse the color.

As for eyeliner…

1. e.l.f. Studio Flat Eyeliner Brush ♥ $3.00 @ eyeslipsface

I love this brush for applying liner or eyeshadow along the upper and lower lashlines. The bristles don’t separate like some liner brushes. A+. The e.l.f. Studio Small Angled Brush is also acceptable for things like eyebrow fillin’, but it does separate over time and is a pain to clean.

Face Brushes:

1. e.l.f. Studio Powder Brush ♥ $3.00 @ eyeslipsface

The flat top of this brush is perfect for the “stamping” motion of powder application. I also use this brush for blush and for contouring the sides of the forehead. It’s very soft and fairly well-made in that it will stand up to a few washes, but your wallet won’t mind the replacement. I’ve heard the Coastal Scents Powder Brush is a good dupe at only a dollar more.

2. e.l.f. Studio Mineral Powder Brush ♥ $3.00 @ eyeslipsface

This brush could be used for powder or blush, but I prefer to use it as a soft contour for those days when I don’t want to look like a drag queen (basically never). Like all of the e.l.f. Studio brushes, it’s soft and well-made.

3. Real Techniques Contour Brush ♥ $17.99 for the Core Collection (set of 4 brushes) @ Kohls or Ulta

It’s a small brush good for a stronger contour or cheek highlight. These brushes are extremely soft and well-made. The set is worth getting, although I don’t use some of the brushes for their intended purpose. A foundation brush the size of a concealer brush?! Psh. No.

4. e.l.f. Studio Small Tapered Brush ♥ $3.00 @ eyeslipsface

This small brush fits perfectly in the hollows of my cheeks for highlighting and contouring.

So that does it! Clearly, I have a thing for cheap brushes.

If you have any brush suggestions, please leave them in that attractive lil box below! It loves to hear your comments. Coincidentally, so do I 😀

Olive

Follow me around! I post a bunch of blog previews and other neat junk. 

♦ Instagram @eyehavealotoffeelings

♦ Twitter @olivesfeelings

6 Responses to “My Favorite Makeup Brushes”

  1. Catherine Dream July 1, 2014 at 3:50 pm #

    Perfect post – I’m looking for a good brush right now – for mineral foundation… (Powder.)

    • Olivia July 1, 2014 at 4:32 pm #

      Thanks! Yeah I’d definitely recommend the elf one or any brush with a flat top for powder.
      Side note: Just opened my WordPress app and HOLY GOODNESS GIRL I love you you are a wonderful person!!! Totally made my day with all your comments ❤ Off to go reply!

      • Catherine Dream July 1, 2014 at 4:39 pm #

        Hahaha ❤

        It's so much fun reading your blog and catching up!!! : ))

        I'm thinking maybe of a flat top Real Techniques brush? I don't actually like huge kabuki style brushes, I prefer smaller, stippling brushes.

  2. aliicegolding June 24, 2014 at 9:39 am #

    Wow, you seem to like elf! Personally I love love love RT brushes! Btw, check out my blog! xo

    • Olivia June 24, 2014 at 9:41 am #

      I am not a huge fan of a lot of their products, but their Studio brushes are just fantastic 😀 Me too, I’m planning to buy some of their eye brushes asap 🙂 Will do!

      • aliicegolding June 24, 2014 at 9:42 am #

        Haha, I’m the opposite! I love their products but can’t seem to fall for the brushes! 😂

Think inside the box!

