REVIEW: Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette

23 Jun

Hello, all! Figured I’d review the Naked 3 palette by Urban Decay, in case you’ve had a severe Internet allergy and haven’t read any other reviews of it yet. Or something.DSC03153

Da da-da daaaaaa! Look, further evidence of my hoarding!

DSC03155

(Taking this bit straight from my Naked 3 makeup look because I couldn’t say it any better.)

So…I am a *bit* late on the Naked 3 train. But I have an excuse a reason for this madness. I always wait until the hype dies down to see whether I really need want a product. In the case of the Naked 3, I wasn’t interested initially, but the more I saw how well this worked on all eye colors, the more I lusted after it. Like Dean Winchester after pie. And women. And cool cars. Basically like Dean after anything.

Here, have some swatches.

DSC03161

Bottom to top: Strange, Dust, Burnout, Limit, Buzz, TrickDSC03164

 

Strange is actually a great matte (my) skin tone highlight, but it doesn’t show up on my skin in the swatch. I’m sure ye extremely pale readers will empathize. Dust has dredged up a lot of complaints from the blogging world, but I think it’s a lovely shade over a tacky base that can deal with the glittery fallout. Burnout is a shimmery pink with decent pigmentation. Limit is a great mauve matte shade for blending harsh edges. Buzz is a gorgeous medium shimmery pink with great pigmentation. I couldn’t get Trick to work for me for some reason…I know UD makes some beautiful gold shadows, but I couldn’t get much pigment out of this one.

Bottom to top: Nooner, Liar, Factory, Mugshot, Darkside, Blackheart

DSC03163

These ones fared much better against my cynical scrutiny. Nooner is basically Limit’s dark cousin, again a matte mauve shade perfect for blending. Liar is a shimmery neutral taupe. Factory is a darker brown with some shimmer. Mugshot is a cool shimmery taupe. Darkside is another disappointment with very little pigmentation, but I suppose it could be used to darken up a smokey look. Blackheart is a deep black with red sparks, but don’t get too excited, because they don’t stick around. Sad day.

The overall texture of these shades is very smooth and buttery, and with the exception of a few flops, the pigmentation is excellent. I like the rose-gold pretty fairy princess shades in the first half of the palette, but the real money for me is in the second half. Wow. Unspeakably gorgeous. I almost feel that this palette is more versatile than the Naked 1, and the colors go together a lot better. Obviously a subjective opinion, but it’s MY subjective opinion, so it counts 🙂

I’m eyeing the Naked 2, of course, because it’s a COLLECTION, and I need my missing piece, but this is definitely my favorite Naked Palette out of the 2 I own and the one I recommend most if you don’t mind the two unfortunate shades.

Thanks for taking the time to read yet another review on this! Shoot me a comment if you’d like to see more looks using this palette. Ciao!

Olive

Follow me around! I post a bunch of blog previews and other neat junk. 

♦ Instagram @eyehavealotoffeelings

♦ Twitter @olivesfeelings

4 Responses to “REVIEW: Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette”

  1. lookbeyondbeauty June 23, 2014 at 1:36 pm #

    It’s a great palette, I wish I will get it one day 🙂
    lets follow each other? 🙂 http://lookbeyondbeauty.wordpress.com

    • Olivia June 23, 2014 at 6:54 pm #

      It is a fantastic palette, I’d definitely recommend it. I’m already following you! 🙂

  2. BlushingBeauty June 23, 2014 at 10:49 am #

    All these shades are so beautiful x

    • Olivia June 23, 2014 at 6:56 pm #

      Aren’t they? I’m so glad I got this, but now I need the Naked 2 as well 🙂 “need” haha

Think inside the box!

