Makeup Through the Ages: 1940s

20 Jun

makeup through the ages banner

I’m so excited to be collaborating with so many talented bloggers! For my decade, I chose the 1940s, a decade that focused on classic, glamorous makeup.

My inspiration:

1940s inspo collage

Continue reading for my take on 1940s makeup!

Out of necessity due to the wartime restrictions, makeup in the 1940s was kept as simple as possible. Foundation was used in a darker shade than one’s skin tone, but I decided to skip this for fairly obvious reasons. Powder was used to set foundation, and here I’ve used it as usual to keep the oil at bay (hello, summer). Eye makeup was kept minimal with the focus on high, thin brows and bright red lips, which were considered necessary to “keep morale up.” Unfortunately, I don’t have the thin brows necessary to replicate that, so I filled in my brows as usual. For the cheeks, rose colors were used to simulate a healthy flush, and nails were painted to match lip color.

1940s collage 3

1. Prep the eye with primer and fill in your brows as usual.

2. Apply a matte mauve or brown shade to the outer part of the lid.

3. Apply a shimmery champagne color to the rest of the lid and highlight the inner corner.

4. Draw a thin line of black or brown eyeliner across the upper lashline.

5. Wing out the line if desired.

6. Conceal any dark circles.

7. Blend out the concealer. Or don’t. I’m not here to tell you what to do.

8. Curl your lashes and apply mascara.

9. Red and orange-red lips were popular during this era, so apply a smashingly red lipstick to boost your morale.

10. Contour your cheekbones and apply blush as liberally as you feel necessary.

DSC03339

Time to get into character!

DSC03373

11. Take lots of photos and use filters to make them look vintage.1940s collage

For 1940s style, I wore a dark green blazer with a jaunty red hat and a pearl necklace.  1940s collage 2

Products used:

♦ Urban Decay Naked Palette: Virgin, Buck

♦ Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette: Nooner

♦ Physicians Formula Eye Booster

♦ Covergirl Lash Blast Mascara

♦ Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in Fair

♦ Maybelline Fit Me Pressed Powder in Coconut (as contour)

♦ NYX Blush in Mocha

♦ Rimmel Stay Matte Powder in Sandstorm

♦ e.l.f. Matte Lip Color in Rich Red

♦ L’Oreal Color Riche Lipgloss in Rich Plum

Hope you enjoyed that blast from the past…Be sure to check out everyone’s gorgeous contributions to this collab!

Egyptian/Cleopatra: Angela from Your Beauty Whisperer

1920s: Soph from Little Bit Soph

1930s: Meagan from A Beauty Obsession

1940s: Olivia from Eye Have a Lot of Feelings

1950s: Heather from Coconut & Cotton

1960s: Brittany from The Beauty Deputy

1970s: Michelle from Pretty in the East

1980s: Christina from A Casual Beauty

1990s: Jacquelyn from the Little Scottish Corner

2000s: Stephanie Wright

Present Day: Barbe from Fashionista in Surburbia 

Futuristic:  Becky from MakeupandFreckles

Olive

30 Responses to “Makeup Through the Ages: 1940s”

  1. Catherine Dream July 1, 2014 at 3:58 pm #

    Looks authentic (and the filter doesn’t hurt ; ))!

    I love it and also, the info about that decade! Loving the morale tip! : D

    And of course, I’ve noticed the bit about nails – if I had to match my face to my nails I’d look like a broken Picasso painting. Right now I’d have to use mint and brown eyeshadows and draw golden seashells on my cheeks. ; )))

  2. Catherine Dream July 1, 2014 at 3:58 pm #

    Looks authentic (and the filter doesn’t hurt ; ))!

    I love it and also, the info about that decade! I love the morale tip! : D

    And of course, I’ve noticed the bit about nails – if I had to match my face to my nails I’d look like a broken Picasso painting. Right now I’d have to use mint and brown eyeshadows and paint golden seashells on my cheeks. ; )))

    • Olivia July 1, 2014 at 4:39 pm #

      Thanks, mostly due to the filter I think 🙂 I’d wear red lips every day, but they require too much maintenance, ew.
      That sounds kind of beautiful actually, and I hope I get to see the nails at least 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. TGIF: A New Achievement | Eye Have A Lot of Feelings - June 27, 2014

    […] you haven’t yet seen it, here’s my part of the Makeup Through the Ages blogger collab posted last Friday! So many talented artists participated in this collab; their looks are linked at […]

Think inside the box!

