REVIEW: OCC Lip Tars in Meta & Black Metal Dahlia

10 May

I finally gave it to peer pressure and picked up a few Lip Tars to test drive.

ImageImage

Black Metal Dahlia, an original Lip Tar, was so hard to capture on camera. It has this beautiful glittery metallic finish, but in pictures it just looks like a raspberry red.

Image

As I’m sure you’ve heard, you only need a tiny amount of this to achieve an opaque finish.

Image

This is definitely a color that will need some concealer around the edges, as it started to feather almost immediately after application. I have yet to test the longevity of this color, but given the drier formula, I’m guessing you’d get a decent 4-6 hours.

And here we have Meta, a Lip Tar: Stained Gloss.

Image

I needed a bit more of the product to cover the lips, and it was still a bit translucent. The color is gorgeous, but it wish it were more opaque. It also looks rather pink in the closeups, but rest assured it is more orange. Texture upon application reminds me of a thick, sticky lip gloss. Once on, it does set to a matte or nearly-matte finish, which lasts crazy long (6 hours without reapplication, through eating and drinking)

Image

Here it is on my sassy mug.

DSC02017DSC02015

 

I am probably the only weirdo on earth that likes the combination of cobalt blue and coral.

Right now, I’m not really sure how I feel about these Lip Tars. They’re a bit pricey at $18 although I’m sure they’ll last me an age, they’re a pain to apply (and I envision the brush getting kinda gross), and they’re high-maintenance (imagine reapplying these throughout the day…um, no). I’d love to get the Primary Pack and play around with lip colors like blue and purple, so I might go for that next time I’m at Sephora.

Tomorrow, probably.

What are your thoughts about the Lip Tars? Any recommendations for me?

Olive

5 Responses to “REVIEW: OCC Lip Tars in Meta & Black Metal Dahlia”

  1. Amria May 11, 2014 at 5:24 am #

    If I remember correctly Natalie had a ton of these so you can drop by her blog (natzisstash) and see what she thinks and how she uses them 😀

    • Olivia May 11, 2014 at 6:55 pm #

      Right?! She’s the one that inspired me to buy these ones 🙂

  2. Pat May 10, 2014 at 8:31 am #

    You are not a weirdo, I happen to think it looks well together! Too bad the color doesn’t translate well in photos, I’d love to see the orangeness of Meta. 😀

    • Olivia May 10, 2014 at 8:37 am #

      Haha thank you 😀 It looks much more true to color in the full-face pictures!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. REVIEW: OCC Lip Tar: Matte in Rollergirl | Eye Have A Lot of Feelings - June 4, 2014

    […] See a review of 2 other lip tars here! […]

Think inside the box!

