Neutral Eyeshadow Palette Smackdown: Part 1

28 Apr

Whoa. That sounded dramatic. 

But really, I have so many neutral palettes. Why not talk about them and share the glory?

LINK TO PART 2 HERE

1. Urban Decay Naked Palette

(My review here.)

Yep, Naked the First and only for me, as I have found love at first swatch (you should’ve seen me in Sephora. It was like I’d gotten a perfect SAT score…which sadly, I did not). Granted, this palette is not very versatile. More mattes, please! But the colors are gorgeous and each is unique, so I forgive. The packaging does irk me a bit, although I know they’ve fixed this in the Naked 2 and 3. Fake velvet though? Really? Dust magnet all up in here. I wouldn’t take it traveling, but it is one gorgeous lil thang.

One thing I love about this palette that I don’t see a lot is the variety of warm and cool tones. The Naked 1 is known as the warm-toned neutrals out of the 3, but it has a few cool tones in there, too! Darkhorse is greeny-brown, Toasted is a pinky-brown, Gunmetal is a blue-silver just to keep things interesting…come on, it’s amazing.

And because I like lists…

Pigmentation: 5/5

Versatility: 3.5/5

Packaging: 3.5/5

Overall: 4/5

Do I reach for it? Almost every day!

2. Lorac Pro Palette

(My review here.)

I’ve had this one the longest out of the palettes I’m smackdown-ing, and it is without a doubt the most versatile. What neutral look can’t you accomplish with this palette? I love the no-nonsense arrangement of light-to-dark, matte-to-shimmer shades. This honestly cuts down on the time I have to spend searching for that one specific medium matte brown, and that right there is a recipe for one happy Olive.

Unlike the other neutral palettes I have, there is not a single shade that disappoints me or that I routinely neglect, although I could stand to use Garnet more often (but really, how often does a day call for a burnt orange shadow?). The pigmentation is incredible and the shadows are so soft that you need basically no product to cover the lid. I’ve had this for nine months now (it’s my palette baby) and the pans look barely used. That is an accomplishment.

If I had to complain about one thing (and I’m really reaching here), it’s that I personally am not a fan of the fold-over cardboard packaging. It doesn’t feel as secure as a snap closure and I am hesitant to travel with it. I also wish that the shades were a little more interesting. This is a great basic, one-stop-shop neutral eyeshadow palette, but I feel the need to supplement it with some colors for my everyday looks. That could just be me, the color fiend 🙂

Pigmentation: 5/5

Versatility: 5/5

Packaging: 4.5/5

Overall: 4.8/5

Do I reach for it? Almost every day!

3. Lorac Unzipped Palette

(I haven’t reviewed this in full yet, but a mini-review is included in my haul here and I included it in my January Favorites here.)

Ah, my second Lorac palette child. This one has some pretty obvious flaws, but it is also kind of awesome.

First up, packaging. Cardboard. Flip closure. We’ve been over it. The pan sizes in this are enormongous, probably twice the size of the Lorac Pro pans. Fewer colors, bigger pans. I can live with it because I really only use 6 of them anyway.

The pigmentation of this is very hit-or-miss. The texture isn’t as smooth as the Lorac Pro or the Naked palette, so you need to work a bit harder to get the stuff onto your brush. That said, the pigmentation of most of the shades is pretty good, especially considering 4 of them are matte. Untamed, however, is unworkable. Muy bad. Which is a shame, because what this palette lacks is a good shimmery highlighter (Undercover is matte and Unreal is slightly too dark and pink) and a dark brown/black shade to use as liner or to darken up a look. So it has the middle of the spectrum, and that is lovely, but I need my staples in this.

Maybe I’m being too negative with this one. I love it, I really do, but only when I’m surrounded by other palettes I can use to supplement this. When I’m looking for a beautiful bronze shadow or a pink-toned neutral, I will always always reach for this. It just needs a highlight and a more pigmented dark brown or black and it would be perrrrfect.

Pigmentation: 3.5/5

Versatility: 3/5

Packaging: 4.5/5

Overall: 3.7/5

Do I reach for it? Sometimes, for specific shades.

To be continued in Part 2! Any thoughts on what I’ve reviewed so far?

Olive

 

6 Responses to “Neutral Eyeshadow Palette Smackdown: Part 1”

  1. Amria April 28, 2014 at 11:56 pm #

    I guess I like the Lorac better than the Naked, any one of them…

  2. Elese ♥ eleseaesthete.com April 28, 2014 at 2:09 pm #

    I cannot stand cardboard packaging! I don’t understand it. Like when a product is that good why would you encase it in card? I need the Lorac pro palette in my life ASAP though ♥ great reviews!

    • Olivia April 28, 2014 at 6:04 pm #

      Right?! Urban Decay usually wins at packaging so the Naked Palette disappointed me, but I guess they had some growing up to do. You do, it’s gorgeous!! Thanks!

  3. Pat April 28, 2014 at 9:09 am #

    I have none of these, but I’m definitely getting the Lorac Pro (hopefully soon!). The reviews are almost unanimous, that if one is a neutral lover, then one should get this. 😀

    • Olivia April 28, 2014 at 9:28 am #

      That is very true! It is so beautiful 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Neutral Eyeshadow Palette Smackdown: Part 2 | Eye Have A Lot of Feelings - April 30, 2014

    […] LINK TO PART ONE HERE […]

Think inside the box!

