Movie Reviews: Divergent, The Lego Movie, & Captain America: The Winter Soldier

12 Apr

So I’ve been lazy and the un-reviewed movies have piled up. Very bad. Instead of separating them out into 3 reviews, I thought I’d just share some informal thoughts with all ya’ll, spoiler free as per usual! 😀

Image

Divergent:

I read the first 2 books about a year ago and my initial reaction was decidedly meh. They’re good for those in the 8-14 range, but I’ve started noticing that my enjoyment of young adult fiction has waned considerably since graduating from the young readers section at Barnes and Noble. I’m not saying that older readers can’t enjoy books meant for younger readers, but I don’t. That said, the movie impressed me. The action/fight scenes were dynamic and believable, the characters were well-rounded (and quite attractive, let’s be honest here), and it was a lot of fun to watch. I didn’t take much away from it, it didn’t blow Hunger Games/Catching Fire out of the water, but it was a solid first installment that wisely stuck to the events in the first book besides the deletion of a few minor characters. Good stuff.

Side note on this one: If getting a tattoo were as painless as this movie made it seem, I’d be covered in ’em.

The Lego Movie:

If I were a five year-old hopped up on popcorn and Slushies, this would’ve been hands-down the best movie of the year. It was hugely exciting to watch (so many colors! Fighting! Batman! Will Ferrell!) and there was never a dull moment. However, I got the impression that the writers tried to cram so many jokes and “lessons” into it that it was left a disorganized, closure-lacking jumble. In the interest of not being overly critical of an animated movie, it was otherwise pretty great. They left just enough off-color jokes in there to satisfy the older crowd (or at least those of us over 5). I’m not sure I’ll go for the sequel, but I don’t regret the $5 I had to fork over for this movie, which is always a good sign 🙂

Aaaand finally…

Captain America: The Winter Soldier

I just saw this last Thursday, so it’s the freshest in my mind. I never know where to start with movie reviews, and I can just hear readers in the background going, Don’t quit your day job, Olive, but I guess I’ll start with the best parts of the movie: the action sequences. Damn son, them’s the moves. I’m not sure when Cap became a martial arts master, but please never stop.

I guess I should add the disclaimer that I never liked Cap as a character; he was always too traditional and…hmm…resolute? He never doubted the authority of his orders or questioned the morality of his deeds because he was too moral. I can’t seem to explain this any other way! I like heroes to be flawed; it makes them more believable. That aside, this movie changed my opinion of Cap for the better. Without giving too much away, The Winter Soldier pins him against unlikely adversaries (could I be any more vague? I said spoiler free and I meant it :)). I loved that the antagonist wasn’t just another generic bad guy that no one gives a hoot about because the conflict doesn’t relate to current events. Although the movie takes it a little far, it was just believable enough to draw attention to the crux of the issue instead of Cap doing backflips off the edge of a ship (there was plenty of that as well).

Side note: Cap and Natasha Romanoff make a pretty kick-ass team, but if they try to make them a couple, I am leaving Marvel forever.

 

Ok, enough rambling. This movie was very impressive and you should get yourself to the nearest theater, order obscene quantities of junk food, and see it! As always, stay til the very end of the credits for a few bits, one of which I’m sure will be analyzed on the blogosphere for months to come. Goody.

Out of these 3 I’d have to recommend Captain America. I never thought I’d say it, but I’m a convert. To a point. Whoever decided to give him a little extra sass in this movie gets a virtual high five from me.

Have you seen any good movies lately? And who’s excited for X Men?? 😀

Olive

3 Responses to “Movie Reviews: Divergent, The Lego Movie, & Captain America: The Winter Soldier”

  1. anniesunshineee April 16, 2014 at 5:26 pm #

    ATTACTIVE. YES.

  2. Catherine Dream April 13, 2014 at 12:12 pm #

    I thought CapAm would be horrifyingly horrible, but I ACTUALLY loved it too. Go figure.

    Still wanna see Divergent ; )

    • Olivia April 13, 2014 at 12:13 pm #

      Haha yeah that’s basically what I went in there expecting 🙂 You should, it was pretty good!

Think inside the box!

