Review: Urban Decay Naked Palette

3 Mar

I FINALLY bought this guy, and I love him already!

Yeah, obviously my palette is a dude.

Continue reading for swatches and a review of each shade in the Naked palette!

With flash:

ImageImage

No flash:

ImageImageImage

Straight from the packaging:

Image

And there’s me in the mirror 🙂

Image

Am I the last person to pick up this palette or what?? While everyone’s getting the Naked 3, I’m still salivating over the original -.- I got this one because I thought the colors would be more versatile on my skin. I don’t use a lot of pink tones on my eyes as I tend to stick with golds and browns, but there’s still a few in this palette to keep it interesting.

I’m not terribly impressed with the packaging (Velvet? Really? Dust magnet! And flimsy cardboard…), so I probably wouldn’t travel with it, but I liked the brush and the mini Primer Potion, so all is forgiven.

Shade run-through:

Virgin is a lovely shimmery-but-not-too-shimmery off-white that matches my skin perfectly. It’ll be great for a highlight shade that doesn’t scream disco ball. Sin is more sparkly, champagne-y version of Virgin, which I also use as a highlight. Naked is a great matte light brown shade for blending out the edges of a smokey eye or as a highlight for darker skin tones (obviously not me). Sidecar is a lovely bronze color with the most glitter out of all the shades. It was also very crumbly to swatch, so use a light hand with application. Buck is a darker version of Naked with great pigmentation. I don’t use matte shades very often but I’m very impressed with the pigmentation of these babies. Half Baked is a perfect shimmery medium gold with great pigmentation, and Smog is its darker cousin. Darkhorse is a darker warm-toned shimmery brown. Toasted is a gorgeous shimmery rose gold, probably my favorite shade in the whole palette :). Hustle is a shimmery cool-toned brown. The pigmentation of Hustle isn’t great compared to the other colors. Creep is a dark sparkly grey that applies a bit patchy, but would be great for darkening up a look without going overboard. Gunmetal is a gorgeous shimmery blue-grey that I will try my best not to neglect. I wish there were a matte black to use as a softer alternative to liner, but that might just be me.

While I’m at it, here’s an LOTD from the Mall of America the other day, where I purchased this bootiful palette:

ImageImage

Pink and purple on ma EYEBALLS? This has got to be a first.

If any of you have done looks using the original Naked palette, please link them below so I can check em out for inspiration!

~Olive

3 Responses to “Review: Urban Decay Naked Palette”

  1. Kayla Sanchez March 4, 2014 at 3:45 pm #

    I ended up getting the Naked 3 palette, just because my skin is so fair that I can’t wear half the colors of the other two! The pinks and golds work best with my blue eyes too 🙂 By the way, I love the purple/pink! It matches your glasses 😀

    • Olivia March 4, 2014 at 5:28 pm #

      That’s great, it’s a gorgeous palette 🙂 Pale people problems, I hear you. And thank you 😀

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Neutral Eyeshadow Palette Smackdown: Part 1 | Eye Have A Lot of Feelings - April 28, 2014

    […] (My review here.) […]

Think inside the box!

