Target and Birthday Makeup Haul

23 Feb

Birthday presents and makeup- the perfect storm.

From left to right: Makeup Geek Pigment in Insomnia, Makeup Geek Gel Liner in Poison and Electric, and Sugarpill Loose Eyeshadow in Asylum

Image

Here you can see the gorgeous blue sparkles in Insomnia.

Image

Continue reading for swatches and the rest of my haul, because one can never have too much makeup! 

Swatches! Left to right: Electric, Poison, Asylum, and Insomnia (bare skin, no primer)

ImageImage

I think Asylum would be even more amazing foiled, butttttt lazy. Insomnia has a stronger blue shift than these pictures felt like showing, as pictured below.

A close dupe for Insomnia pigment is the second liner shade in Wet ‘n Wild Color Icon palette in Comfort Zone (or MAC Club if I could affort MAC eyeshadows), but Insomnia has a stronger blue duochrome and more sparkles, which makes it clearly superior. It also blends like you wouldn’t believe.

Comfort Zone shadow on left, Insomnia on right.

Image

Here’s what I picked up at Target when my mother sent me on a grocery run. Who says grocery shopping can’t be awesome?

From left to right: Revlon Lip Butter in Raspberry Pie, L’Oreal Paris Colour Riche Caresse Wet Shine Stain in Berry Persistent (holy mother of long product names), and Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick in Violent Frenzy

Image

I’ve never used a “Wet Shine Stain,” which to me translates as “liquid lipstick,” and I wasn’t prepared for the considerable stain left behind after I (violently) scrubbed the lip colors off my hand.

Image

Here it is on the lips. It applies a bit patchily, more like a lip gloss than a lipstick, but an incredibly pigmented gloss. I’m not sure how I feel about the texture, which stayed tacky after application, but I LUUURRRVVV the color. I’d call it a slightly vampy but very wearable berry purple.

ImageImage

Full face, sans any other makeup. I think this would look great with thick winged liner and a strong contour, buttttt lazy.

ImageImage

It’s so pretty O.O

I know this is a lamest possible thing to say after a haul, but I think I’m going to instate a makeup ban on myself, at least for the next couple months. I have so many things I still want/need desperately to buy, but looking around the other night, I realized how much freaking makeup I own. More than most people who don’t use it professionally, that’s for sure. I love it and the creative outlet it’s provided, but I need to scale back on my purchases and enjoy what I already have. So from now until, say, the end of the school year (mid-June), I won’t spend any money on makeup. If other people decide to give it to me (hint hint other people), it’d still be neato, of course 🙂

So with that happy news, I bid you farewell! Anything in particular catch your eye in this haul?

~Olive

5 Responses to “Target and Birthday Makeup Haul”

  1. Marion's mind February 24, 2014 at 10:38 am #

    I too have found I’ve been buying too much makeup and using them little. I won’t deprive myself totally but need to cut back spending badly, but other peoples blogs posts makes everything look like I need it right now! Lol

    • Olivia February 24, 2014 at 4:06 pm #

      Right?! Blogging is so counterproductive, everyone has such pretty things 🙂

  2. llewsoba February 23, 2014 at 9:05 am #

    Ohhhh I love those Makeup Geek Liners… The red one looks so awesome. One of these days I’m gonna order some stuff from her!

    • Olivia February 23, 2014 at 7:18 pm #

      I said the same thing forever, it took my friend ordering it for my birthday to realize how amazing the products are 🙂 Where else can you find a red gel liner??

      • llewsoba February 23, 2014 at 7:20 pm #

        Right, I love the red one.

Think inside the box!

