I Have “The Creator’s Curse”

30 Jan

Cyanide and Happiness, a daily webcomic

My life, fully encapsulated within this comic from Cyanide and Happiness, my favorite morbid webcomic.

A year ago, I loved makeup. It was my thing, something that I was good at. Something that impressed people. Whoa. New concept. Mind blown.

Now, a year later, I still love makeup, but I cringe at the stuff I did back then. What I thought was good was actually pretty rubbish. What I thought was good six months ago was also equally rubbish. Three months ago. A week ago. And on andonononononon.

I just need to learn to be happy with what I create. Good, bad, whatever, they’re all learning experiences. And I need to stop looking at the work of others and comparing it with my own, because that never ends well.

Sooo…new mantra. Stop. Leave it alone. It’s fine. Betteristheenemyofgood. Forgive yourself.

Anyone else run into this problem? How do you cope with it?

~Olive

6 Responses to “I Have “The Creator’s Curse””

  1. Mark Coakley February 5, 2014 at 6:04 pm #

    I can really relate to this.

    • Olivia February 5, 2014 at 7:00 pm #

      Oh good, it’s nice to know I’m not alone 🙂

  2. Catherine Dream January 30, 2014 at 1:55 pm #

    This is good mantra!!!
    I could use it too.

    • Olivia January 30, 2014 at 8:04 pm #

      Haha thanks, I think it can be applied to a lot of things (for me, grades especially :\)

  3. Amria January 30, 2014 at 8:46 am #

    You just have to see that it’s not a bad thing to look at your old creations as rubbish. Why? Because this just means that you’ve outgrown them, that you got better and that now you are a much more talented girl than you were 3 months ago. I think I’s a good thing 😀 no, it’s actually the only way to see past experiences. Because you’re better by the day.

    • Olivia January 30, 2014 at 8:04 pm #

      Aww thanks Maria, you made my day 🙂

Think inside the box!

