Review: L’oreal Lash Out Butterfly Mascara

22 Jan

I read mixed reviews on this mascara- some people said it was their holy-grail-never-going-back-to-peasant-formulas mascara, and some people hated it. I decided to be the tiebreaker.

The wand is pretty strange on this one. One side is a fairly standard mascara wand with small, thin bristles, and the other is asymmetrical, winged-out bit. I guess it was mean to imitate a butterfly’s wing..?

Here’s some pictures of my naked eye (gasp!) and two extremely belligerent eyebrows.

Pre-mascara, no curl:

Image

Look at that little renegade eyelash, doin’ its own thang…

One coat of mascara, no curl:

Image

I applied this like I would my favorite mascara, Maybelline’s The Falsies, using the flat side to add volume and the curved side for length and definition. Ok, this is just awful. I guess I could have combed through them, but who really has time for trifles like that when they’re half asleep on a Monday morning? Basically, it gave a bit of length and curl with no volume whatsoever. Fail, fail, fail. But I persevered.

Mascara (left, duh) v. no mascara:

Image

Some great mascaras require curled lashes for maximum efficacy, so I gave it a shot.

Pre-mascara, curled:

Image

Aaaand mascara, curled:

Image

Much better! Although to be fair, the lashes on my left eye (above) are notoriously better behaved than those on the right. For application, I started with the winged-out side of the wand instead of the flat side. The curl doesn’t seem to have affected the final result much:

Image

Well, that was an experience.

After wearing this all day, I can say that I am very impressed with the lasting power- it was completely devoid of the black smudges I get under my eyes with the Maybelline mascaras, even after 12 hours of taking finals/running errands. Removal was a pain as it came off in little flakes that got everywhere, but it was fairly easy to remove.

Pros:

– Lengthening

– Curled my lashes a bunch

– Great lasting power

Cons:

– No volume

– Smells weird, it really reminded me of the nasal spray I used to take for allergies. A bit off-putting.

I thought the lasting power was encouraging, so I may give this a try with my Falsies mascara that adds a ton of volume, but honestly, I want to avoid the spider look and two coats of mascara might just push me over the edge on that goal.

Sooooo, I’m not really sure how I feel about this mascara (so much for being a tiebreaker -.-). What did you think of the Lash Out Butterfly mascara? If you have any tips on how to apply, please loop me in!

~Olive

8 Responses to “Review: L’oreal Lash Out Butterfly Mascara”

  1. Amria January 23, 2014 at 6:28 am #

    I also love the Falsies! I haven’t tried this one yet but to be honest, I think I am sticking to the falsies because it gives you everything you need. Btw great review, this is how mascara reviews should be done. ^_^

    • Olivia January 23, 2014 at 7:33 am #

      Thank you! I hate to do a negative review and I honestly will keep using this mascara (maybe for my bottom lashes) because I hate to throw it out after just buying it, but let it be known it makes me angry 😀

  2. Andra Watkins January 22, 2014 at 3:12 pm #

    I think a mascara that’s this much work is a fail for every day. I may try your fave, though, if it comes in waterproof. In our humid climate, I must wear waterproof year-round, or I look raccoon-ish.

    • Olivia January 22, 2014 at 3:40 pm #

      It does, and the waterproof Falsies is amazing. A bit dry, but it works 🙂

  3. llewsoba January 22, 2014 at 8:20 am #

    I have it, and I just threw it in my empties box.I loved it for the first 2 days, I thought the shape was very interesting. After the first few days, I hated it… It was very gimmicky, and the formula is clumpy after the first coat. I even tried it with a disposable mascara wand and still hated the formula.

    • Olivia January 22, 2014 at 10:25 am #

      Sounds like we had about the same experience…Sorry to hear about it 😦

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. LOTD: Rainbow Eyeliner | Eye Have A Lot of Feelings - February 9, 2014

    […] – L’oreal Lash Out Butterfly Mascara, which I now officially hate (my review here) […]

  2. Zodiac Series: Pisces | Eye Have A Lot of Feelings - January 28, 2014

    […] – L’oreal Lash Out Butterfly Mascara (bottom lashes) (swatches and review here) […]

Think inside the box!

