Tag: Best of Beauty 2013

5 Jan

I was tagged for this post by Brittany the Beauty Deputy (her post here). I guess it’s a yearly beauty favorites post…how will I ever decide?!

-12 hours of nervous nail biting later-

cas writhing on floor

Ok, ok, I’ve got em.

1. Primer

I don’t wear it often, but I have tried NYX Pore Perfecting Primer and Philosophy’s The Supernatural (tehe). As for effectiveness, neither will stop the grease face all day, but they definitely help the powder last longer. As for eyeshadow primer, Urban Decay Primer Potion is the best ever (my review here).

2. Foundation: none

3. Concealer

Um…I tend to just use whatever. Not very adventurous when it comes to skin stuff, sozz.

4. Powder

Rimmel Stay Matte Powder. It helps keep the shine at bay for about 5 hours, which is good enough for me.

5. Bronzer: none

6. Blush

Wet n’ Wild Color Icon Blush is the bestest. Ridiculously pigmented.

7. Highlighter: none (wow I’m lame)

8. Brow

My trusty No7 Beautiful Brows Pencil in Black (it’s more of a dark greyish brown). I usually set it with clear mascara from e.l.f. because cheap.

9. Eyeshadow Palette

Oh…oh, my. I want to say the Lorac Unzipped Palette because it’s shiny and new, but most used this year would have to be my Sugarpill Burning Heart and Heartbreaker palettes. I pair the bright colors with neutrals and use them as eyeliner and they are incredible.

10. Eyeliner

It’s a tie. No7 Stay Precise Felt Tip Eye Liner in Black and Brown are the best liquid eyeliners I’ve ever tried, and the Rimmel Scandaleyes Waterproof Kohl Kajal why is this product name so long are the best pencil liners ever and they’re freaking 4 dollars.

11. Mascara

Maybelline The Falsies Mascara, both the waterproof and normal versions are amazing.

12. Lip Pencil: none

13. Lipstick

I’m not really one to wear lipstick but I really enjoy the NYX Lipsticks; there are so many colors and they’re very inexpensive so you can give the crazy colors a whirl without killing le wallet.

14. Lip Gloss

NYX Lip Glosses win all the prizes in this category. And they smell like watermelons and sunshine…

heavy breathing

15. Beauty Subscription: none but I’d love to try Ipsy…:)

16. Perfume

Pacifica Tuscan Blood Orange Perfume (my review here). It smellsΒ that good.

17. Lip Balm

Revlon ColorBurst Lip Butter in Sugar Plum. It feels really nice on the lips and it’s really lightly tinted. I’m not an adventurous lip color person so these suit me perfectly. Planning to pick up more on my next Target run.

18. Brush

The blending brush from the Sonia Kashuk 5-Piece Brush Couture Set (featured in this haul post). My blending powers have been boosted 500%. It’s magical.

19. Favorite look I’ve done this year

I felt like adding this category as an excuse to peruse my old posts. I arrived at the inevitable conclusion that I couldn’t get over this look and want it on my face every day:

DSCN2033 DSCN2035 Β DSCN2051

More on the look here!

That just about wraps it up. πŸ˜€ I’m tagging everyone who hasn’t done a 2013 favorites post yet (yeah, I know, I’m late on the bandwagon) to give it a go! Cheers πŸ™‚

i'm outta here

~Olive

7 Responses to “Tag: Best of Beauty 2013”

  1. The Beauty Deputy January 5, 2014 at 5:48 pm #

    Love that look, it’s very unique! Nyx cosmetics does have nice lip sticks and glosses! I’ve always wondered what the Pacifica perfumes smelled like.

    • Olivia January 6, 2014 at 12:07 am #

      Haha thank you, I aspire to be unique whenever possible πŸ˜‰ Aren’t they amazing? Target sells a bunch of Pacifica perfumes in roller balls to try out, I’d recommend πŸ™‚

      • The Beauty Deputy January 6, 2014 at 1:39 am #

        I will have to try them out. I’ve always been tempted to but never knew what scent to get.

  2. Amria January 5, 2014 at 8:41 am #

    Colourful look of the year ^_^ I loved seeing “none” at some topics, you just tell it like it is, nothing impressed you haha

    • Olivia January 5, 2014 at 12:51 pm #

      Haha I hope that’s a good thing πŸ™‚ Oh good, I was hoping people wouldn’t be think I was lame for omitting half the categories, but I think it’s pretty obvious that I like eye makeup more than anything else…:D

  3. natziwang January 5, 2014 at 8:28 am #

    I really love that look of yours, I can never understand how you get that ombre without overblending, and the leopard spots are such a nice touch!

    • Olivia January 5, 2014 at 12:46 pm #

      Thank you!!! The look was actually inspired by a youtuber that I love so I can’t take full credit πŸ™‚

Think inside the box!

