The Hunger Games: Catching Fire Movie Review

15 Dec

Spoiler-free as per usual!

I know, I know, this movie has been out FORFREAKINGEVER (like, 2 weeks) and I haven’t seen it until now. But it was worth the wait!

This movie was not as frenetic and action-packed as its predecessor, which I actually enjoyed because it focused a lot more on the set-up before the 75th Hunger Games than it did on the games themselves. Jennifer Lawrence was so much better in Catching Fire compared to the first Hunger Games! I still think she has a rather blank expression, but that may just be me and it seems to work for Katniss just fine. 

Can I just say, I’m really sick of Gale. He serves little to no purpose in the story, other than to contrast the bright shiny superficial prosperity of the Capitol with the filthy coal mines in District 12, which is arguably important, but he irritates me too much to care. 

Wow, this is such a professional review.

The supporting characters are amazing- Effie was incredible, I actually felt sympathy for her instead of disgust. Baby steps! Finnick was probably one of my favorites; they managed to create on-screen what I’d imagined in my head when I read the book. Johanna was hilarious. For those of you who’ve read the book, the elevator scene with her and Katniss is wonderfully awkward. And Haymitch…oh, Haymitch.

If you were a fan of the book, get your butt to the nearest theater; you’ll love it!

If you were iffy on the first movie, this one is worth your $5 (and probably an extra $5 for popcorn, let’s not lie to ourselves).

What did you think of Catching Fire?

Cheers!

~Olive 

9 Responses to “The Hunger Games: Catching Fire Movie Review”

  1. Catherine Dream December 31, 2013 at 3:12 pm #

    Haha, love you reviewing skillz ; )
    And I agree, the elevator scene, oh so wonderfully awkward.
    I love how faithful they were to the book!

    • Olivia January 1, 2014 at 11:03 am #

      Hehe thanks 🙂 It really was, I love Johanna Mason. I do too but I wish they hadn’t ended with that horrible cliffhanger (like the book did) because even though I know what happens, I’m still super anxious for Mockingjay!

      • Catherine Dream January 1, 2014 at 12:05 pm #

        Haha, I know what you mean! When they fished her out, I mean, I know what happens too, so why are we anxious? : P
        I can’t wait for Joanna to be emotionally unstable, she’s going to be great, what a brilliant actress. : )

  2. Kayla Sanchez December 15, 2013 at 12:57 pm #

    1) Yesss that elevator scene gave me secondhand embarrassment I almost had to cover my eyes xD

    2) Where do you live that movie tickets are $5?? If I want that, I have to go to the early morning showing (usually 9 or 10 am), and even then it’s still $6. Normal pricing is $9-$11 for me O_O SHARE YOUR SECRETS

    • gothicbeeza December 16, 2013 at 1:50 am #

      I feel your pain! I get $11 tickets if I have a loyalty card at my local cinema. At the bigger cinemas its $23. Not even kidding. Then it’s like $15 for a drink and popcorn. Sigh.
      I really liked Catching Fire. so much better than the first movie, and so much closer to the book 🙂

      • Olivia December 16, 2013 at 6:10 am #

        Wow, that’s intense 😦 Glad you liked it! It did stick to the book really well, hopefully we can expect the same from Mockingjay Part 1!

    • Olivia December 16, 2013 at 6:09 am #

      Ahaha yes exactly 🙂 We have 3 theaters close by, so I get my pick of a) new and expensive or b) older and cheap. Small towns… And I always go before five, I’m just lame like that 🙂

  3. suzie81 December 15, 2013 at 10:51 am #

    I haven’t seen either of them yet, but I’ve heard lots of good things…

    • Olivia December 16, 2013 at 6:09 am #

      Let me know what you think if you do see it 🙂

Think inside the box!

