Purposeless

4 Dec

Bad news go ‘way! 
Call ’round some day 
In March or May – 
I can’t be bothered now. 

As I trudge the three blocks home from the bus stop and the sleet dampens my hair, I contemplate how much I detest Ed Sheeran’s “The A Team”; specifically how every time it plays, someone asks me in an annoyingly superior way if I “know what it actually means.” Simultaneously and almost comically, a mail truck blows by and covers my pants with a brown spray of slush. Just like in the movies. Ah, well, It’s not like I’m going anywhere.

When he keeps on brushing you aside 
Oh gosh, you’re all at sea! 
You go contemplating suicide — 
It’s much too much for me! 
You’re not so dumb that you don’t know the answer. 
Loving him is what causes that! 

I’m sitting in physics drawing dragons across my friction lab thinking that I’m in school to learn and I’ve only just realized that this means more than getting A’s across the board and falling asleep in class. Life is constructed in moments of complete boredom and terrifying exhilaration with no room to breathe. There’s nothing to keep me occupied but a perpetual motion machine of makeup and showtunes playing its broken record in my head. Everything is either blindingly simple or too much to bother with.

The way you wear your hat, 
The way you sip your tea, 
The mem’ry of all that — 
No, no! They can’t take that away from me! 

~Olive

P.S. The theater hangover will subside soon, I promise!

P.P.S. Maybe. I’ll try tomato juice and caffeine.

2 Responses to “Purposeless”

  1. hannie10h December 9, 2013 at 10:27 pm #

    Brb almost to tears because I miss hearing the music so much

    • Olivia December 10, 2013 at 3:41 pm #

      Oh good, someone else to share my sorrows. Well, not good exactly, but…sniffle…it’s over… 😦

Think inside the box!

