Thor: The Dark World Movie Review

9 Nov

LOKILOKILOKILOKILOKILOKILOKILOKILOKILOKILOKILOKILOKILOKILOKILOKILOKILOKILOKILOKI

Oh hi ya’ll, didn’t see you there.

I walked into Thor: The Dark World with low expectations. I mean, the first movie? Kind of a train wreck, apart from the aforementioned.

It proved a pleasant surprise.

I’m still not completely sure what exactly happened, but I can say that the effects were quite exciting, and apart from the frequent appearance of Jane Completely-Useless Foster, it was a pretty good movie. As in the case of Thor, the supporting characters carried the movie.

While exploring an astronomical anomaly, Norse god Thor’s mortal girlfriend Jane Foster (ew) accidentally unleashes a hidden power called the Aether and with it, some dark elves hell-bent on revenge. Naturally, Thor and his brother Loki must fight them and destroy the Aether before it blows up Asgard and London. Why London? Because they destroyed New York in The Avengers. Get with the program.

I’ve always thought Thor was a bit too dense and hotheaded to be a good hero or king, but his friendly (and not-so-friendly) bickering with his brother was hilarious and almost made me tolerate his presence in his own movie. As for the characters that weren’t Thor or his rippling biceps, Eric Selvig was great (admit it, we all walk around without pants sometimes), Loki was fantastic (nope, not biased), Heimdall was pretty badass, and Odin and Frigga provided a guiding parental presence. Odin was actually awake for most of the movie this time, props to him.

I want to give this movie a high rating because, well, MARVEL and LOKI and superheroes with capes! The perfect trifecta. But I had to consider how confusing the plot was, and the unnecessary Thor-Jane-Sif love triangle, and how I honestly didn’t care whether the villains wreaked havoc on a major city, so I’ll settle for a 3. Compared to the first movie, it was phenomenal. The characters developed past the sarcastic toughness that pervaded the first Thor film. But it still had a frenetic, unfocused quality that made it difficult to absorb what the heck was going on.

All I can say is, if they plan to milk out another Thor movie, it’d better be named Loki. 

Olive out.

What did you think of Thor: The Dark World? Am I the only one getting some Star Wars vibes? I mean, the elves’ ships and Thor’s missing hand…I can’t be the only one!

5 Responses to “Thor: The Dark World Movie Review”

  1. Bef November 9, 2013 at 11:52 am #

    Yeah, Jane was pretty dumb…. so was the person I sat next to in the movie theater, though.

    • Olivia November 9, 2013 at 11:52 am #

      ….I’m not watching movies with you anymore.

      • Bef November 9, 2013 at 11:53 am #

        Just kidding brobranch I love eweeee 🙂

        • Olivia November 9, 2013 at 11:53 am #

          …I accept your apology

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. LOTD: Thor: The Dark World Deserved Some Bright Colors | Eye Have A Lot of Feelings - November 13, 2013

    […] went to see Thor: The Dark World (my review here) a few days ago and it was impressive! (Much better than the original.) Naturally, I Marveled […]

Think inside the box!

