Sonia Kashuk “Jewel of an Eye” Palette Review

7 Nov

The jewel-toned palette comes with 12 gorgeous shades. It was self-gifted in an attempt to convince myself out of buying Urban Decay’s Vice 2 palette, which I would never have been able to afford but really really want.

The palette is arranged in 4 rows of 3 shades each. It’s about the size of my palm and a great little palette for traveling. The packaging is fairly study black plastic with a clear lid for easy identification in the black hole of my makeup storage.

Sonia Kashuk® Limited Edition "Jewel of an Eye" Eye Couture

Don’t they look perty?!?!

With NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil in Milk as a base:

DSCN3247DSCN3248 DSCN3249

No base:DSCN3244DSCN3250 DSCN3251

With a base, the colors are gorgeous, almost exactly like they appear in the pan. Without a base, they are…vaguely awful. I wouldn’t have bought it if I’d known about the poor pigmentation and chalky texture, but I’m glad that a sticky base makes them workable. Either way, there’s quite a bit of fallout, so I’d recommend tapping off your brush before application and patting on the color rather than brushing it across the lid.

Some of the standout shades are the blackened green in the second row, the red in the third row, and the golds and browns in the last row. The worst shades by far are the purpley-red (to the right of the red, last shade in the third row) and the dark blue (last in the second row). The pigmentation is awful and they do not appear true to pan. The majority of the shades are at least workable, and I love the diversity of jewel-toned shades.

One thing I would have added to this palette is a shimmery highlight that I could use for the inner corner; the pink is too pink and makes me look ill. 😦 An all-over lid and blending color would be great as well, but I understand how it would detract from the jewel theme.

Overall I can’t recommend this palette without a primer and a base, but if you take the time to use them, the shades are beautiful and easy to work with. This palette is perfect for a smokey eye or an everyday look with a pop of color. I’ve used the red and green as eyeliners and they look beautiful. I’ll be reaching for this palette this fall. 🙂

Rating (out of 5):

Cheers,

Olive

Think inside the box!

