Ender’s Game Movie Review

5 Nov

Long review short, this movie was amazing.

4.5/5. I loved almost everything about it. To be honest, it rivaled the book, which never ever ever happens. Gone was the political commentary, gone were the lengthy battle scenes that belonged on a screen rather than on a page. Ender’s Game was incredibly well-made and well-thought out; for the most part, it stuck closely to the story, deviating only to add to the original.

For those of you living under a rock who haven’t read the book, I won’t spoil anything major for you. 🙂

Ender is a young boy living in a futuristic world, a “Third” child when families are restricted to two. He was born to participate in a program that trains intelligent children to fight again the formics, an alien race that invaded and killed millions of people. Throughout his time in battle school, he struggles with the two sides of himself, his violent brother Peter and his gentle sister Valentine, as well as the high expectations set for him by Colonel Graff, the leader of the program.

The book is written to be read and understood differently by everyone, and the movie follows the same rule. Children will love the beautiful special effects and the zero gravity battle room, while older audiences will be simultaneously absorbed in and horrified by the idea of using the versatile minds of children to fight a bloody and horrific war.

I was amazed by how closely the movie managed to parallel the book while staying within its time constraints. One obvious deviation, however, was the budding friendship between Ender and Petra Arkanian, another student at battle school. The film obviously struggled with the lack of gender diversity in the book (published in 1984…need I say more?), but the film’s women were strong-willed and significant to the story rather than just fillers to add romance and emotion, and Petra ended up as one of my favorite characters.

The only aspect of this film that I didn’t enjoy was Valentine, Ender’s sister. The scenes between her and her little brother didn’t feel real to me, although Asa Butterfield did an amazing job portraying Ender. Other than Abigail Breslin, though, the acting was amazing. It really felt like one of my favorite books was coming to life on the screen exactly how I’d pictured it in my head. Come on, how often does a movie do that?

Like I said before, 4.5/5 and a definite rewatch. Heck, I’d even splurge on the Blu-ray.

What did you think of Ender’s Game (book or movie)?
Cheers!

~Olive

5 Responses to “Ender’s Game Movie Review”

  1. Notorious Beauty Blog November 5, 2013 at 6:27 pm #

    I am going to see this on Friday….I am soooo excited!!!

  2. Kayla Sanchez November 5, 2013 at 5:42 pm #

    I wished there had been a bit more time dedicated to Ender’s struggles and growth as a person – that was the part of the book that I loved so much: the psychology of it all and the debate between right and wrong and what these children are doing in the war.

    BUT! I loved this movie. And I love it the more I think about it, actually. It grew on me 🙂

    • Olivia November 5, 2013 at 5:47 pm #

      I agree, I wish he’d spent more time in battle school and the relationships between he and his siblings had been explained more fully, but I understand why they had to cut some lengthier parts out of the movie 😦 Still, it was pretty darn good!

Think inside the box!

