The Fault in Our Stars Book Review

25 Oct

Hmm.

Dare I say…overrated?

I was urged to read this book by countless (3) individuals, so I gladly gave in. The titled intrigued me.

I’m sure most of you have read or at least heard of this book, but I’ll summarize it quickly. Teenager Hazel is a terminal lung cancer patient given extra time by a miracle drug. When she meets Augustus, a survivor of osteosarcoma, they fall in love, but…

Just kidding. I won’t spoil it for you 🙂

The writing style did not grab me. Don’t get me wrong, I’m a big fan of John Green and his youtube adventures, but I’m not a big fan of the way he writes. (No hate, honestly I’m just stating an opinion here.) But I persevered.

Besides the “deep thoughts” scattered throughout the book (I can attest to the fact that 16 year-olds don’t think like that), I liked it. The plot was fairly unpredictable (I’d already had the ending spoiled for me, sadly), the characters were likeable (what Hazel lacked in personality Augustus made up for ten times over), and the whole story was, apart from the introspective teenagers, very realistic. It didn’t over-dramatize the subject of cancer- it simply was. 

There’s not much more to say about this book, other than to give it a 2.5/5. It was an average read that didn’t leave much of an impact on me overall, but I did tear up a few times toward the end. I found myself sympathizing with Hazel and Augustus’s parents a lot more than the main characters themselves, but that might just be my big sister complex. Personally, I wish that Hazel had been less resigned to her fate as I think it would have made her more likeable, but that might just be me…

What did you think of this book? Are you excited for the movie?

~Olive

7 Responses to “The Fault in Our Stars Book Review”

  1. Nerdfighter Scum December 7, 2013 at 5:52 pm #

    I must say I am surprised that one of your main complaints was against the portrayal of unrealistically introspective teenagers, especially given that you are a teenager and that you write a blog, which is at least to some degree about your own life. As part of your rationalization of these teenagers’ inappropriate introspection, I suggest you pay particular attention to Hazel’s rant about Maslow’s Hierarchy of Human needs and the way that John Green explodes the idea that humans cannot fully function without health through the unnecessary and overblown introspection Hazel and Augustus define themselves by.

    • Nerdfighter Scum December 7, 2013 at 8:38 pm #

      Alternatively, consider that Augustus’s and Hazel’s introspection focuses on mortality and the transience of existence but that all of that thought comes from a focus on their own illness. They never move past the thoughts that derive from being terminally ill, or being threatened by terminal illness. Why would a person not diagnosed with or at risk fro cancer or another terminal illness focus so singularly on such a line of thought? Perhaps their overblown introspection is an unintended proof of Maslow’s Hierarchy after all.

    • Nerdfighter Scum December 7, 2013 at 8:58 pm #

      If Hazel is so deep and introspective, why does she consistently cling to an obsession with society’s standard of physical attractiveness?

  2. Carina October 23, 2013 at 11:18 am #

    Super excited for the movie. It’s not my fave John Green book, and it was so awful when I decided to listen to the audiobook version of it. D:

    • Olivia October 23, 2013 at 1:24 pm #

      Ahaha I gotcha, I hope the movie’s better 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bloggin' Recap: October 20th-26th | The Day Dreamer and Candy EaterThe Day Dreamer and Candy Eater - March 27, 2014

    […] Eye Have a lot of Feelings reviews The Fault in Our Stars […]

  2. Bloggin’ Recap: October 20th-26th | The Day Dreaming, Candy Eating, Red Headed Bookworm - October 27, 2013

    […] Eye Have a lot of Feelings reviews The Fault in Our Stars […]

Think inside the box!

