Gravity Movie Review

15 Oct

Spur of the moment thing, was going to see Captain Phillips but changed my mind last-minute (I was literally standing in front of the ticket counter going hmm…4:30 showing!).

The fact that this movie had only 2 cast members really amused me for some reason.

I was drawing some serious parallels to Alien…Woman alone and somewhat scantily clad in inhospitable space, trying desperately the find a way home…ring any bells? Nope? Ok, on to the review!

This is going to be a tough one not to reveal spoilers on, but I’ll do my best.

Medical engineer Ryan Stone (Sandra Bullock) and astronaut Matt Kowalski are aboard the space shuttle Explorer when fast-moving debris leaves them the sole survivors of an accident that destroys their shuttle. Together they must overcome the oppressive ‘atmosphere’ of space and return home.

I probably should’ve seen this one in 3D. Bits of space junk flying at you, sunrise from space…yeah, bad decision on my part 😦

The movie was over 2 hours long, but with all the intense, heavy-breathing action sequences, it felt much shorter. It was tense, and at times I wanted to scream at Dr. Stone to either move a bit faster or give up completely, just as long as she picked one and stuck with it.

If the plot of this film was replicated in any other environment, it would’ve been painfully boring, but the stunning originality of it made up for the lack of character development. Honestly, I was rooting for Clooney’s character a lot more than Bullock’s, despite several pathetic attempts to arouse my sympathies for her.

My sympathies were not aroused.

The setting was beautiful, and although I can’t vouch for the accuracy, it didn’t look as overly computer-generated as you’d expect. I loved how the perspective occasionally shifts to the POV of Dr. Stone as she makes her way through the space station, her movements painfully clumsy in the bulky suit. I have no other word for it but “neato.”

I try to use this word casually whenever possible.

If you’re on the fence about this one, it’s definitely worth seeing (in 3D)! I’d give it a 3/5 because it didn’t leave much lasting impact on me plot-wise, but I’ll probably be having space-related dreams/nightmares for a while 🙂 I hope this movie will pave the way for a beautiful space movie with actual substance. Hopes too high?

~Olive

Think inside the box!

