Taekwondo Update #1: No Longer a White Belt

2 Oct

That’s right, ladies, gentlemen, and snails of unspecified gender (snails are hermaphroditic…and their mating ritual is fascinating): Olive passed her white belt test.

Along with the fine company of 10 little little kids and 2 forty-something men.

Still proud.

I have now graduated to white-belt-yellow-stripe, which involved paying $40 for an instructor to stick 2 pieces of yellow electrical tape to my existing belt.

I kid you not.

Still, I am no longer a white belt.

God be praised.

Must go learn new form.

Yes sir yes sir.

My goal is black belt before graduation.

We’ll see how that goes.

~Olive-who-trips-over-own-feet

7 Responses to “Taekwondo Update #1: No Longer a White Belt”

  1. dodotheextinctsworld October 3, 2013 at 11:28 pm #

    Hey Olive congrats!
    As a karate instructor (6 years) it is not easy to pass the test especially in a kids class but keep it up you’ll definatly be able to reach black belt by the time you graduate. 😀

    • Olivia October 4, 2013 at 6:11 am #

      Thank you, that’s very encouraging! It does seem like they have higher expectations for the older students but fair’s fair, sometimes the younger ones can’t remember their forms or goof off. I do feel like I have an advantage there 🙂

  2. Vee October 2, 2013 at 3:23 pm #

    Hi Olive, I’ve nominated your blog for the Versatile Bloggers Award, I think you blog is great and I hope you’ll accept my nomination. 🙂
    http://vrobson.wordpress.com/2013/10/02/versatile-bloggers-award/

    • Olivia October 2, 2013 at 3:52 pm #

      Thank you!! That’s really nice of you, I appreciate it 🙂

  3. blushingbeauty9 October 2, 2013 at 10:17 am #

    It’s the year anniversary now since I got my black belt in Tae Kwon Do, it’s not easy but keep going xx

    • Olivia October 2, 2013 at 2:56 pm #

      Wow, congratulations! It’s definitely been the most rewarding sport I’ve ever participated in, I hope it continues to be 🙂

      • blushingbeauty9 October 3, 2013 at 12:45 pm #

        Thank you and good luck x

Think inside the box!

