►►Eyelid Primers (e.l.f, Maybelline, Too Faced, etc.) Review◄◄

21 Sep

Hey ya’ll listen up, primer is IMPORTANT. Every single time I’ve given eyeshadow tips to one of my friends, I mention primer and their eyes go all O.O (I’m looking at you, Maddie and Bef).

Basically, eye primers provide a base for your eyeshadows. They prevent the natural oils of your eyelid from seeping into and dissolving your eye makeup, extending the wear time of your makeup. They can also help brighten the eye area and conceal eyelid veins or darkness. Some are waterproof, some are gel, some come in a tube that looks like a lipgloss…it can get confusing! Here’s my breakdown of the primers and bases I’ve tried…I hope it helps!

Primers:

e.l.f. Eyelid Primer, $1

I got this because it was cheap. It works! That’s about all I can say. My eyelids are of medium oiliness, so my eyeshadow will crease during the day. To put it into perspective, I apply my makeup at 5:30 AM and take it off between 6 and 8:00 PM; this primer lasted me at least 8 hours. Pretty decent!

Too Faced Shadow Insurance, $20

Shadow Insurance Anti-Crease Eye Shadow Primer

So far this is my favorite primer by process of elimination- it resists creasing for the longest time. Because I’m at school most of the day, I can’t tell you exactly how long it lasts, but it’s fairly impressive. It’s also the second-most expensive primer on this list, so you decide if you want to spend $20 on it 🙂

LORAC Behind-the-Scenes Eye Primer, $21

I received a miniature version of this with my Lorac Pro Palette. This one is about on par with the e.l.f. primer for me. With the massive price difference, I’d recommend the e.l.f. one, but this one works just as well.

Stila Prime Pot Waterproof Eye Shadow Primer, $20

Prime Pot Waterproof Eye Shadow Primer - Taffy

This is one of the most waterproof primers I’ve ever used. However, it comes in a pot, so it dried out within a few months. I’m still very on the fence about it; the formula is amazing, but for $20 I want to be able to use it until it runs out.

Bases:

Maybelline 24 HR Color Tattoos, $6.99

Eye Studio® Color Tattoo® 24HR Cream Gel Shadow

These Color Tattoos are waterproof cream eyeshadows that will set (dry) to an un-smudge-able base for your eyeshadows. They also work on their own, but I like to use them to brighten the pigmentation of my eyeshadows. I did an in-depth review of all of the color tattoos here:

More on the Color Tattoos in this post: https://eyehavealotoffeelings.wordpress.com/2013/07/30/maybelline-24-hr-color-tattoo-review/

Milani Shadow Eyez 12 HR Wear Pencils, $6.99

I have these in Royal Purple, Brown Deluxe, Champagne Toast, and Winter White. They are fantastic waterproof bases, much easier to apply and in more effective packaging than the Maybelline Color Tattoos (i.e. in stick form, so the product doesn’t dry out, although they do need to be sharpened). You’ll need to work quickly to blend this before it sets, but the results are very rewarding. These will crease without an eyeshadow over the top, and I always use them with a primer. I really ought to review these properly 🙂 All of the colors I have are shimmer or satin finish, so if you want a matte base, see below.

NYX Jumbo Eye Pencils, $4.50

JUMBO EYE PENCIL

These have been reviewed six ways to Sunday by every other blogger ever, but here’s my take. I have these in Milk, Black Bean, and Purple Velvet. First off, they aren’t waterproof, but they are far-and-wide the creamiest eyeshadow bases I’ve ever used. They aren’t meant to be used without an eyeshadow to set them, but they make an amazing base (NOT a primer). Milk in particular is great for “helping out” bright but crappy and unpigmented shadows, to put it plainly, which is great news in my book 😀 On the other end of the spectrum, Black Bean is perfect for darker colors. Cheap + amazing = go buy.

That’s it for my primers and bases…as you can see, I haven’t made too much of an effort to step outside my comfort zone- when I find something that works, I use it until something else amazing forces itself into my daily routine. Or, in the case of about a month ago, my local Target decides to stock NYX. Best half-birthday present EVER.

Just remember that primers work differently on everyone; what works for me might be terrible on your eyes, or vice versa. I hope this has been somewhat helpful; let me know if you’d like in-depth reviews of any of these products, or swatches…I love swatching things and carrying them around on my hand all day. I get a lot of strange questions, mainly “Did you get a bright orange bruise?” or “Hehe, you look like a colorful zebra.” What can I say, it cheers me up 🙂

~Olive

Whoops, almost forgot the song of the day!

It’s been bouncing around in my head all day. It makes me kinda sad and kinda hopeful.

8 Responses to “►►Eyelid Primers (e.l.f, Maybelline, Too Faced, etc.) Review◄◄”

  1. Catherine Dream January 16, 2015 at 7:34 am #

    Woah! This is the first time I landed on your blog FROM google! : )

    I googled maybelline tattoo something something bronze (I want a base-y primer for my brand new and already much loved Naked 2h) and clicked a few results – and there you were. I was like, woah, Olive’s blog! (No really, a weird experience : )))

    • Olivia January 16, 2015 at 9:18 pm #

      Oh em gee, that’s crazy 😀 I think in the UK it’s called On and On Bronze, no? But I mean you can always ask me makeup questions, don’t trust Google 🙂

      • Catherine Dream January 17, 2015 at 12:50 am #

        As long as I know it’s someting blah blah Bronze, I’ll find it in store ; ) (it’s only names like Uh Oh Roll Down the Window or Lincoln Park After Dark I rememeber : P)
        So I gather from your post you like it? I want a nice, neutral but not colourless base for my Naked 2. And idiot proof.

        • Olivia January 17, 2015 at 6:50 am #

          Haha, that makes total sense 🙂

          I did at the time, it’s very nice and it lasts for ages if you can get it blended out in time. i don’t really use the Maybelline Color Tattoos anymore but they’re pretty nice, especially for lazy days 🙂

  2. Notorious Beauty Blog September 21, 2013 at 5:56 pm #

    I really love using MAC Paint Pots and Urban Decay Primer Potion…idk why I have never tried the ELF one but I totally should! 🙂

    • Olivia September 21, 2013 at 7:51 pm #

      I would if I could afford them, I’ve heard they’re both great! You should try the elf one, I’m not sure if it’s on par with high end ones but it’s not like you’re dropping a lot of cash on it 🙂

Think inside the box!

