Stage Makeup: Any Tips?

19 Sep

I’m going to be one of the makeup artists for my school’s production of Crazy for You! I’ve never heard of this musical, but I’m so excited to be participating 🙂

Here’s the kicker: I’ve had limited experience applying makeup on other people (those who will sit still long enough without running in the opposite direction), but I have little to no idea how to do stage makeup.

What I’ve seen and heard is DRAMATIC. Dark foundation, lots of blush, lots of mascara to give extra definition to important features that are washed out by the lights. It also needs to be done quickly; for an A-level perfectionist like me, this is nigh impossible.

So again I turn to you, my wonderful readers. Do you have any tips for applying stage makeup, or even just makeup on other people? Any products that I absolutely need? I believe that a Ben Nye Stage Makeup Kit is required for every actor, but those don’t cover mascara, so I’ll probably have to buy disposable wands 😦

What I get to use: brow pencil, what appears to be a liner brush (?), blush, foundation, various sponges. I have some of my own stuff to use as well, but I’ll need to be sanitary about it, and sanitary=$$$.

This is definitely out of my comfort zone (makeup on guys? How do you even…), but I hope it’ll be a fun experience 🙂 *crosses fingers*

By the way, if you’re wondering why I’ve posted less makeup recently, I’ve been at school and therefore haven’t had the opportunity to do much outside neutral looks with a pop of color here and there. I’ll try to do some more exciting looks over the weekend so it won’t just be me blathering on about nothing 🙂 I also have purchased quite a few makeup items since my last haul (bad, bad Olive), so I’ll have reviews of those coming up soon, stay tuned!

Cheers!

~Olive

15 Responses to “Stage Makeup: Any Tips?”

  1. natziwang October 12, 2013 at 5:37 am #

    Everyone should buy their own liquid foundations – make the girls go with the boys to make sure the boys get the right shade.

    I’ve always used MAC products for stage makeup. It was initially developed for the runway, so it’s pigmented enough to work under stage lights. Check out the time period of the musical to see if there were any iconic looks for it (I love 1920s musicals and their makeup and costumes).

    How large is the stage? If it doesn’t seat that very many people, you don’t need to do that much exaggeration and contouring especially if the characters aren’t all that old.

    Don’t forget to set everything with powder because the actors will be sweating off the makeup onstage.

    Good luck!

    • Olivia October 12, 2013 at 9:01 am #

      That’s great advice, thanks for taking the time to go through all of that!

      • natziwang October 12, 2013 at 9:03 am #

        No problem! I started with stage makeup, and miss it so much. You’re going to have a lot of fun.

Think inside the box!

