I Have a Schedule…AND I DON’T LIKE IT

17 Sep

For the first time in her life, Olivia Anne Last-Name-Omitted has a schedule. She is not free to loaf around the interwebs from the moment she gets home from school to the wee hours of the night. She is not free to spend an hour picking at her dinner. She is not free to sit on the couch and read without being told to get her lazy rear up and get ready for XY&Z.

And she doesn’t like it.

I’ve always been a one-extra-curricular girl. For 8 solid years, that was soccer. When I quit last fall, the activities just started piling on: 2 clubs (the goody-goody anti-bullying kind that look good on college apps and make me feel like a righteous person), 2 sports (skiing and tae kwon do), drama (I’m the program editor and the makeup artist), and coaching soccer, all while maintaining an A in 5 AP classes, studying for my SATs, mastering Chinese, and generally trying to keep my head above water.

I’m beginning to realize that I can’t have it all.

I can’t have what I enjoy and still do well in school.

(And by well I mean perfect.)

Some people can, but I need my elbow room. I need my 4+ hours of daily internet. I need my funny memes and my books with big words in them and my retail therapy and my free time.

I can’t cut out classes, so I’ll have to start with what I enjoy…

Bye-bye, sleep.

Being a responsible young adult isn’t what it’s cracked up to be.

~Olive

3 Responses to “I Have a Schedule…AND I DON’T LIKE IT”

  1. EyeOfTheBeholder September 17, 2013 at 10:15 am #

    Don’t cut out sleep! We all need our beauty rest and cutting down your sleeping time is a slippery slope! I can’t really give you advice on how to manage because I’m pretty much what you described in the beginning: I need my ME- time. Luckily I went to college in Belgium and everyone gets into the college they want (completely different system that totally rules and costs only 600euros a year… Sorry. That was mean of me!). Anyway best of lucky with juggling it all and I’m sure I’ll read about how you’re doing.

    • Olivia September 17, 2013 at 6:18 pm #

      Don’t rub it in, I hate our school system enough as it is šŸ™‚ I will do my best to get 6 hours a night at least…

  2. nhieubeauty September 17, 2013 at 8:43 am #

    Go, girl. It’s all about priority, and choosing what’s most important to you. Good luck with everything šŸ™‚

Think inside the box!

