I Need Your Help! Homecoming Makeup

14 Sep

One of my awesomely amazing friends (partially because she reads my blog, and partially because she’s just a general badass and we share musical tastes) is going to homecoming, and she needs a makeup look to match her dress.

(For those of you outside the U.S, it’s a slightly-less-formal-than-prom dance at the beginning of the school year.)

Her dress is dark purple, like this:

It doesn’t have any sparkly adornments, so that leaves me free to go hog-wild 🙂

She has huuuuge green eyeballs and awesome eyebrows and seriously thick lashes and basically everything that I wish my face looked like. I must do it justice!

I’ve looked at wedding and prom makeup and to be honest it looked booorrringgg, I want to do something exciting that will make her stand out among the makeup-failures around us (it’s high school, nobody gets makeup).

So I turn to you wonderful makeup aficionados: any ideas? She doesn’t want to go too dark (understandably), but she’s open to glitter. I’d love to accentuate her green eyes with purple without going too matchy-matchy with the dress. Her shoes and jewelry are silver, so I’m trying to stick to a purple-black-silver theme.

If you have any ideas, good or bad or awfully weird, PLEASE leave them in the comments below! I would love to hear what you guys think, 174 minds are better than one 🙂

Eternal gratefulness,

Olive

10 Responses to “I Need Your Help! Homecoming Makeup”

  1. Amria September 14, 2013 at 10:09 am #

    Look up some purple makeup on pinterest, you should find thousands. And if her eyes are green, even better 😀

    • Olivia September 14, 2013 at 4:47 pm #

      Ahh, Pinterest. That’s a great idea…see you in a week hehe 🙂

  2. natziwang September 14, 2013 at 9:55 am #

    Yep, I agree that it will be easier to give suggestions if we can see your friend’s face as well as the dress. I find though it’s best to accentuate the eyes with a brown smoky eye, and then go for a beautiful but unusual lip colour.

    • Olivia September 14, 2013 at 10:00 am #

      Thanks for the suggestions 🙂 I was thinking about playing up the lips, but I’m not sure what color to go for…I’ll probably try a bunch out and see which looks best..

      • natziwang September 15, 2013 at 1:59 am #

        A matte red? Check out Sephora’s lip creams, they’ve got beautiful colours (look at the reds and purples!) and they’re all beautifully striking. And they’re only $12.

        • Olivia September 15, 2013 at 9:12 am #

          Ooo…tempting, tempting.

  3. thetrickyniki September 14, 2013 at 8:51 am #

    You should post a picture of her face / the dress, because sometimes amazing make up can make the dress look a bit limp and she will have spent a lot of money on the dress so we don’t want the dress to be ignored!

    It’s hard to imagine her face and the dress but I think you should stick to soft silver eyeshadow with a strong winged eyeliner and mascara going on. I feel like you should go all out on contour and highlighting for some really good facial bone structure as well!

    • Olivia September 14, 2013 at 9:59 am #

      Thank you, those are great ideas 🙂 I would post a picture but I’m not sure she’s comfortable having it up and I don’t want to infringe on her privacy :/

  4. EyeOfTheBeholder September 14, 2013 at 8:33 am #

    I suggest you look at some Vintage or Tacky videos: http://www.youtube.com/user/vintageortacky/videos This one: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s85Q4c8h7zQ or maybe this one: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=86h7VQiu1_A Just change the colors around a bit.

    • Olivia September 14, 2013 at 9:59 am #

      I love her! Thanks for the suggestions!

Think inside the box!

