On Thinking Before I Act

13 Sep

In general, I don’t think before I act. I think about thinking before I act, disregard that consideration, and dive in face-first. 

Not a great way to live my life. 

I’m working on it. 

I don’t do small talk. I’d like socializing/schmoozing a lot more if we could skip the “my-my-the-weather’s-been-nice-lately” and go straight to the big questions or tell jokes or something. Could we just be honest about how we feel about a person?

Hi, I think you’re preppy and annoying and I wish you’d stop smearing your tragic love life all over my Facebook feed.

Hi, I’ve only been talking to you for five minutes but I think we’re going to be best friends so can we just go to your house and watch Supernatural and make pies?

So, I’m more than a little unorthodox with my introductions. It usually sends potential acquaintances running in the opposite direction, but I can’t seem to start a conversation with a simple “hello-my-name-is.” 

I’m working on it.

Often, I find myself in situations where I’m about to jump off a cliff (more than once, literally) without ever having given a second to consider the consequences. I don’t allow myself to believe that it could be harmful. I don’t think I’m truly afraid of anything, not enough to overcome it. Besides failure, of course; being a compulsive perfectionist does have its faults.

I have no intention of working on it.

I’m still waiting for the day when I’ll take to something immediately, without needing to practice or overcome any obstacles. For the time being, I’m still trying to find my niche.

Until then, I’m game.   

Think inside the box!

