LOTD: Too Bright for School (…But I Wore It Anyway)

12 Sep

Since I’ve started school, it’s either been too dark (I leave for the bus at 6:45, not a lot of natural light) or my makeup’s been too creased/faded to photograph without cowering in shame. Thus, I haven’t had the chance to post any LOTD’s. Butttt since I’ve been using a new primer (Too Faced Shadow Insurance, I’ll review it later in the week), the creasing has been kept at a minimum and I decided to go all out today, just for you 🙂

(Be warned, this has been on my face since 5:30 this morning (I’m an early riser by force, not by choice), so almost 12 hours.)

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

I need to stop overexposing things, my face looks like a ghostly ball of light.Image

I tried to coordinate with the snake and flower on my necklace (Target):Image

The lip color I added later, to give it a little more oomph (I’m a huge fan of oomph).

Products used:

– Too Faced Shadow Insurance

– NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil in Milk

– NYX Palette in Love in Florence: gold, peach w/ gold sparkles

– Urban Decay Deluxe Shadow in Peace

– BH Cosmetics 120 Palette: dark red-orange

– Maybelline The Falsies Waterproof Mascara in Black

– NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in San Paulo

Tutorial:

1. Prime the eye and apply a white base to the lid and lower lashline.

2. With a flat brush, pat a gold shadow on the inner part of the lid.

3. Pat a peach shadow on the entire lid and blend into the gold.

4. On the outer part of the eye, lightly apply a red-orange shadow and feather it out.

5. With a smudge brush, apply a bright blue shadow along the lower lashline to contrast with the peach.

6. Apply your favorite mascara and you’re finished!

I know this may seem a little out there for an everyday look, especially for school, but I justify it by claiming that a) glasses cover stuff b) I didn’t use eyeliner and c) I don’t care. I get a few compliments and a few surprised looks and that’s good enough for me 😀

Most of these products are new, so this look was a chance to play around with them. I’ll be reviewing the majority of my new stuff soon, so stay tuned! Cheers everyone!

~Olive

4 Responses to “LOTD: Too Bright for School (…But I Wore It Anyway)”

  1. natziwang September 12, 2013 at 2:29 pm #

    Looks great! =) A friend was asking me where I wear all my makeup to, and I’m just like ‘to school’ and she was a little boggled at the idea. XD But I figure if you own so many pretty things you have to wear them.

    • Olivia September 12, 2013 at 3:42 pm #

      Exactly! Most people won’t go out and say that you’re wearing too much makeup unless you go to school looking like a hooker, and I make a point to avoid that 🙂

  2. High Street Spy September 12, 2013 at 12:42 pm #

    That is a crazy time to leave for the bus! I don’t leave until 8! Don’t envy you a little bit hahah ;P Love the look x

    • Olivia September 12, 2013 at 3:43 pm #

      A little bit, yeah, but it beats having to drive…people are crazy in our school parking lot!
      Thank you!

Think inside the box!

