Grow Your Lashes Without Putting Expensive Crap On Them

10 Sep

Hello, ladies and gentlemen! I’ve got something important to share with all of you wonderful people: a trick to grow your eyelashes WITHOUT buying $200 bottles of watery liquid that only work as long as you continue to buy them.

Wait for it….

Yep, it’s that easy.

I’ve been using Vaseline to grow/strengthen my lashes (and consequently the eye area around my lashes; you’ll find out pretty quickly that it doesn’t like to stay where it’s put) for nearly 2 years. Yes, that’s a long time. Yes, for best results, you have to apply it every or nearly every day. I realize how unappealing the application of slimy petroleum jelly to your face is, but trust me, it works.

I’d recommend applying this at night before you go to sleep, so the gumminess doesn’t annoy you throughout the day.

Pros:

– Cheap. A huge jar of Vaseline is a couple bucks; mine’s 2 years old and not half used-up. Good thing, too, because browsing the petroleum jelly aisle at Target has several connotations, all of them bad. I felt like running out of there, arms flailing, screaming IT’S FOR MY EYELASHES at the top of my lungs, just to avoid judgment.

– Easy to apply. Just take a blob on your finger and mush it around. If you wear glasses like I do, it does get all over the lenses. I’m sorry. Deal with it.

– Longer lashes. I have the sad, short, sparse “asian” (for lack of a better term) eyelashes that constantly undermine my makeup authority. This definitely solved the length problem, but…

Cons:

– …No noticeable volume. I guess it makes sense since the Vaseline strengthens the lashes by adding oil to them, but it can’t reasonably be expected to create new follicles where there were never meant to be any. Still, a little put out 😦

– It takes a while. I’d love to share before and after pictures, but I was a little skeptical at first. It was a very gradual change, but there’s been a change. When I apply mascara, my lashes hit my lenses and drive me crazy, but it’s a good crazy πŸ™‚

I can’t say exactly when you’ll start noticing a change, but if you stick with it, I can say with reasonable accuracy that you’ll be happy with the results πŸ™‚ Cheers everyone and happy smearing Vaseline all over your eyelids!

~Olive

8 Responses to “Grow Your Lashes Without Putting Expensive Crap On Them”

  1. Andra Watkins September 10, 2013 at 4:54 pm #

    For those of us in the, ahem, must watch our delicate eye area category, this probably couldn’t hurt our skin, either.

    • Olivia September 10, 2013 at 5:28 pm #

      I wouldn’t think so, I’m not sure it would be beneficial per se but it’s just oil, right?

  2. thetrickyniki September 10, 2013 at 12:05 pm #

    I’ve heard so much about this technique but I’m too scared to try it out because I wear contacts, and they’re not supposed to come into contact with oils/grease!

    http://colourmeniki.com
    Twitter/Instagram : @colourmeniki

    • Olivia September 10, 2013 at 3:44 pm #

      Do you wear them at night? Otherwise apply during the night πŸ™‚ If you do and you’re careful with the application, the vaseline shouldn’t get inside your actual eye, just around the edges. Besides, you have amazing lashes anyways!

      • thetrickyniki September 10, 2013 at 4:17 pm #

        Ohhh night is a good idea! I’ll see, when it comes to my eyes, I’m too cautious of what I put in or around them… my dad’s an eye surgeon so I’ve been brought up with horror stories!

        • Olivia September 10, 2013 at 5:28 pm #

          Oh gosh that sounds frightening 0.0

  3. natziwang September 10, 2013 at 9:33 am #

    Vaseline is amazing. I’ve been doing this for a couple of months now (not everyday, but often enough) and there’s definitely been a difference.

    • Olivia September 10, 2013 at 3:44 pm #

      Isn’t it great? Such a cheap and readily available alternative to lash growth formulas πŸ™‚

Think inside the box!

