Everyone Thinks We’re Gay (But We’re Just Really Good Friends)

8 Sep

Elizabeth and I have a problem. Everyone thinks we’re gay.

A few months ago, we went out to eat at our local sushi restaurant (I’m so pleased to say we have one). Granted, we did get a bit dressed up.

Image

Here we are; I’m smiling like an idiot, as per usual.

It’s been known ever since as our “lesbian date.” We embrace it.

A few weeks ago, I took my younger siblings to the pool. Of course, Bef was invited. We probably did look like a young couple splashing about with our 2 adopted children.

Not us.

Today, we went shopping. She was pushing the cart and I was picking out Arm & Hammer Hydrogen Peroxide Baking Soda Whitening Toothpaste for me madre, talking vaguely to no one while I did so. An amused older couple asked if I was talking to her or myself.

Bef: Probably both. She just keeps talking, assuming that wherever I am, I’m listening.

Older couple, with knowing smiles (I’d like to imagine they spoke in sync, like robots): Oh, we know. It happens to us, too.

As they wandered away in search of more favorable dental products (or perhaps adult diapers), we turned to each other and burst out laughing.

“They thought we were a couple, didn’t they?”

“Yes, Olive. Yes, they did.”

I don’t know how Bef feels about the whole shebang, but I’ve never minded. The assumption certainly isn’t an insult. The fact that we constantly put ourselves in “couple-y” situations just proves that our relationship (hehe) goes beyond the occasional sleepover. We can (and do) talk about everything. We know every infinitesimal detail of each other’s lives, down to the songs we’ve listened to and the last time we mowed the lawn. We’ve been together, as friends, through all of the crap that piggybacked on our teen years.

Sometimes, I wish she was a guy.

She knows this, and is understandably creeped out.

To the pie-filled good and the icky bad times, Bef. Mostly good, I hope.

Do you have a friend(s) like this? Hold on to them, to the point of awkwardly close physical contact.

Like so.

6 Responses to “Everyone Thinks We’re Gay (But We’re Just Really Good Friends)”

  1. monadeporcelana September 9, 2013 at 10:57 am #

    I have a friend like this. it’s one of life’s greater feelings.

    • Olivia September 9, 2013 at 11:34 am #

      Isn’t it? I love her to death 🙂

  2. hannie10h September 8, 2013 at 8:58 am #

    This is going to bother me indefinitely, it’s mi madre. Fix it.

    • Olivia September 8, 2013 at 10:11 am #

      Lol I had a feeling I was spelling it wrong. NEVERRRR!

  3. thetrickyniki September 8, 2013 at 8:48 am #

    I’ve never had a friend like this, but it’s nice having someone who you’re so twinny with 🙂

    http://colourmeniki.com

    • Olivia September 8, 2013 at 5:39 pm #

      Friendship makes the world go round 😀 It is a bit creepy how much we know about each other…most of our sentences start with “Did I tell you I-” “Yeah, like five minutes ago.”

Think inside the box!

