Magnus Bane Inspired Makeup (from The City of Bones)

7 Sep

DSCN2837Magnus Bane had some pretty wicked eyeliner in The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones movie (my review here). Here’s the best picture I could find of Magnus with his makeup (played by Godfrey Gao):

He has a black and sparkly blue Cleopatra-esque eyeliner thing goin’ on that I wanted to replicate.

DSCN2841 DSCN2842 DSCN2844 DSCN2847The point with this look seemed to be to make the eyes look smaller and somewhat sad (hence the downturned second wing). I added some glitter to the inner corner because I feel he’d approve of the extra sparkle.

If I were to wear this in front of actual people I’d stop the eyeliner halfway in and skip tightlining. Keep the glitter, of course.

How did I do? Would you like to see any other City of Bones makeup looks? Clary had some cool grungy makeup I will probably try whether you want me to or not 🙂 And I have an almost pathological need to try Lily Collins’ amazing eyebrows.

10 Responses to “Magnus Bane Inspired Makeup (from The City of Bones)”

  1. Kathara March 4, 2015 at 10:38 am #

    Hey! I found this post when I was looking for Magnus’ makeup. Although I think that the blue isn’t this visible, you made it quite good! I will definitely do this aswell.
    And you seem to be a very nice and beautiful girl, do you have a Twitter Account? x

  2. Catherine Dream October 14, 2014 at 2:38 pm #

    Magnus WAS awesome in the movie, I’m so glad you did his eye makeup : D

    And that pic you chose of Clary and the red grungy eyes – SO looking forward to you recreating it Olive!

    ‘pathological need to try Lily Collins’ amazing eyebrows’ – that’s why I keep binge reading your posts, even though I should really be reading Roseznweig (or the Professor will skin me alive tomorrow. Or worse, will think I’m an unprepared idiot.)

    • Olivia October 14, 2014 at 8:43 pm #

      Oh my gosh, this post is ancient! I don’t know how you unearthed it!

      I forget I was going to recreate her makeup…campaign promises, I guess. I should get on that…

      READ YOUR READINGS CAT

      • Catherine Dream October 15, 2014 at 8:33 am #

        Ha! My powers of unearthion (yes, that’s right) are unprecedented! : D

        Campaign promises, lol!

        I’ll be looking forward to her make up, go aaaaalll grungy : D

  3. natziwang September 8, 2013 at 6:46 am #

    Haven’t watched it yet, though I am a fan of the series. I was already pretty meh when I saw the cast. Lily Collins seems too… I dunno, glamorous to play Clary. Magnus is a fabulous character, I hope he was done justice. You look wonderful with the makeup by the way. =)

    • Olivia September 8, 2013 at 5:15 pm #

      It was a good movie, I wish I could tell you how it compares to the book. Lily Collins was gorgeous though, I am ridiculously jealous of her eyebrows. Thank you so much!!

  4. EyeOfTheBeholder September 7, 2013 at 5:00 pm #

    Reminds me of a swallow :). Really fun and different look.

    • Olivia September 7, 2013 at 7:35 pm #

      Hehe thank you 🙂

  5. cherryblossompretty September 7, 2013 at 8:37 am #

    Awesome look!

    • Olivia September 7, 2013 at 9:55 am #

      Thank you 😀

Think inside the box!

