LOTD: Smokey Blue w/ a Pop of Yellow

3 Sep

Disclaimer: I borrowed/stole this look from Cosmeticaitlin (her post here). I loved the idea of adding a pop of yellow (seriously, who does that?) to the inner part of the eye, and I’m always up for the challenge of pulling off blue eyeshadow. I didn’t have the same eyeshadows, so I used a brighter blue on the center of my lid (Urban Decay Peace). Here’s how it turned out:

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

I definitely put my own spin on this look; it turned out a lot more blue and winged out, so I can console myself for not being a complete copycat XD

Products used:

– Lorac Behind the Scenes Eye Primer 

– NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil in Milk

– Urban Decay Deluxe Eyeshadow in Peace

– Lorac Pro Palette: Slate (dark blue-black shimmer), Black, White (such creative names in this palette)

– Miss Rose Professional 24 Color Eyeshadow Palette: shimmery yellow

– Milani Liquid Eye Pencil in Black

– Covergirl Lashblast Mascara in Black

Tutorial:

1. Prime the eye, apply a white base over the entire lid, and blend out with a finger.

2. With a flat eyeshadow brush, pat a bright blue eyeshadow over the outer 2/3rds of the lid, leaving the inner part blank.

3. With a sponge applicator for concentrated application, apply a bright yellow shadow to the inner part of the lid.

4. With a fluffy brush, blend the 2 colors into each other.

5. With a crease brush, define the outer v with a darker blue-grey shadow. Blendy blend!

6. Darken the outer v with a small amount of black shadow.

7. Line the lower lashline with both blue shadows.

8. HIghlight the inner corner of the eye with a matte white shadow.

9. Line the upper lashline with black eyeliner.

10. Apply your favorite mascara and you’re finished!

I hope you enjoyed my take on Cosmeticaitlin’s amazing look 🙂 I wore this all day and didn’t get any weird looks, but I’m a little out there to begin with…when/where would you wear this look?

15 Responses to “LOTD: Smokey Blue w/ a Pop of Yellow”

  1. Sam September 4, 2013 at 7:24 am #

    Oh wow! This is really pretty! I can see why you borrowed the idea. 🙂

  2. hannie10h September 4, 2013 at 6:20 am #

    I saw this color tattoo shadow in the discount bin at target $1.50, I was like, Olive would totally go nuts!

    • Olivia September 4, 2013 at 6:38 am #

      Oh I know right, I really did 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lorac Pro Palette Review | Eye Have A Lot of Feelings - September 18, 2013

    […] Slate: Gorgeous blueish grey shadow. This one has a tendency to overblend, but I still love the unusual color. I used it to create this look. […]

Think inside the box!

