The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones Movie Review

1 Sep

I just saw the City of Bones and thought I’d review it for you guys. As always, no serious spoilers will be mentioned!

Now, before I begin, I’d like you all to know that I haven’t read the book(s). I know, I know, bad Olive…but it will allow me to give an unbiased review. In case you hate me a lot right now, I am planning to read them once I slog through the pile on my bookshelf. It’s a big pile.

In the movie, Clary, an average 15 year-old girl, discovers she is actually a Shadowhunter, a half-human half-you’ll-find-out born to kill demons that haunt our world. Along the way she meets Shadowhunter Jace (and several other somewhat unimportant and less attractive hunters) and falls in love and other mushy shirtless business. Their mission is to find one of the three mortal instruments, a cup that can be used to create Shadowhunters, before a group of rogue Shadowhunters get their grubby paws on it.

My first impression of the movie was that it was visually stunning but unoriginal. The plot and characters have been done before, but the scenery and the settings are beautiful, the action scenes are dynamic, and the whole thing is very exciting to watch.

That said, it was COMPLICATED! Maybe someone who’s read the book would be able to keep the characters straight, but I had another please-wear-a-name-tag moment with half the unimportant characters in there. Isabelle’s sole purpose seemed to revolve around having another sentient female character in the movie, while all the parents/non-parents/guardians had my head spinning. Too much double-crossing.

I’d recommend watching this movie if you’re a fan of the book, because it definitely appealed to me on a visual scale. It’s hard to imagine describing what was on screen, so see it if you’d like to put a face to the creatures. It’s not terribly original (think Harry Potter for slightly older readers) but it was entertaining, so I’d give it a 2.5/5. I’m off to read the books now, although I know all of the secrets now…of which there are many.

What did you think of the movie? Did it live up to the books?

12 Responses to “The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones Movie Review”

  1. Catherine Dream October 14, 2014 at 2:35 pm #

    It’s dull and you’re absolutely right, COMPLETELY unoriginal, but the visuals were pretty, Magnus kind of awesome, and dare I say, better than the one in the books, which almost never happens.

    I don’t know if you’ve gotten around to reading the books, but don’t sweat it if you haven’t. Serious.

    • Olivia October 14, 2014 at 8:44 pm #

      I did eventually read the books. Meh. I still liked Magnus though, and Jace was better in the books.

      • Catherine Dream October 15, 2014 at 8:34 am #

        Yeah, meh is so right.

        I’m glad we agree : ) And DEFINITELY Jace was better in the books, but still, overall, meh festival.

  2. Carina September 2, 2013 at 4:25 am #

    Funny you mention Harry Potter! The author gained traction for her work for creating novel-length HP fan fic. There’s a lot of drama involving that, lol, but I guess I just wanted to let you know that that comparison isn’t entirely unfounded. Haha, glad to hear it was at least beautiful to watch.

    • Olivia September 2, 2013 at 10:20 am #

      That’s what I’ve heard, I didn’t know whether it was true or not!

      • Carina September 2, 2013 at 10:22 am #

        Oh it’s definitely true. The fan fic series was actually one of my favorite ones but I got into it late so I wasn’t really part of all the drama. If you were interested (???), it’s called The Draco Trilogy, and it’s actually 3 novel-length stories. Haha, it’s quite entertaining, but not canon anymore as she wrote it as the series was still in progress. Blaise Zabini, for example, was a girl. 🙂

        • Olivia September 2, 2013 at 10:30 am #

          Cool, thanks so much 🙂

  3. The Cheese September 1, 2013 at 10:27 pm #

    Was thinking of seeing this, but…maybe I’ll wait for Netflix. How is Jonathan Rhys-Meyers’ role in this?

    • Olivia September 1, 2013 at 10:40 pm #

      It’s definitely worth seeing in theaters for the grandness of it all, I tend to be a bit more negative than entirely necessary 🙂 He’s an interesting and well-played character, I’m not sure how he compares to the Valentine of the book though. He was pretty creepy…

  4. hannie10h September 1, 2013 at 9:05 am #

    The poster looks like a uterus

    • Olivia September 1, 2013 at 9:54 am #

      Ahahaha it does though

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Magnus Bane Inspired Makeup (from The City of Bones) | Eye Have A Lot of Feelings - September 7, 2013

    […] Bane had some pretty wicked eyeliner in The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones movie (my review here). Here’s the best picture I could find of Magnus with his makeup (played by Godfrey […]

Think inside the box!

