Makeup for Glasses!

23 Aug

UPDATE: This post has been receiving A LOT of traffic lately, and I just wanted to update you on my progress over the past year. I’d like to redo or add another chapter to the makeup for glasses series soon, so please watch out for that! I’d like to think I’ve grown as an artist (or at least, as a dabbler with a very expensive hobby) over the past year and I’d love the renew this series! 

Niki from colourmeniki.wordpress.com suggested that I do a few makeup looks that can be worn with glasses. You probably know by now that I don’t let glasses get in the way of crazy, colorful, and dramatic looks, but there are a few tricks I’ve learned to help my eyes stand out behind the frames.

1. Statement eyeliner. Oftentimes I won’t bother with eyeliner because it decreases the lid space available for fun eyeshadow, but if you do liner, make it bold. The first makeup I wore with my new glasses was this simple winged eyeliner look.

Continue reading for more tips and makeup looks for glasses!

Products used:

– Revlon Colorstay Liquid Eye Pen in Blackest Black

– NYX Megashine Lip Gloss in Beige

– Covergirl LashBlast Mascara in Black (for all looks)

ImageImage

2. Don’t be afraid of color. Adding (subtle or otherwise) pops of color to your look can intensify your eye color or the color of your frames.

Products used:

– Milani Shadow Eyez Pencil in Royal Purple

– Wet ‘n Wild Color Icon Palette in I Dream of Greenie: all colors

– NYX Jumbo Pencil in Milk

ImageImageImage

3. Highlight and contour. If you’re nearsighted like me, glasses act as a reverse magnifying glass, making your eyes appear smaller. To combat this:

– Highlight the inner corner of your eye, the browbone, and the center of your lid

– Contour the crease or slightly above your natural crease (if you don’t have a crease, fake it!) to give your eyes dimension and make them appear larger

– Add a little shadow underneath your lower lashline to give the appearance of thicker lashes

– Skip lining your waterline with dark eyeliner as doing so will make your eyes look smaller

– Line your lower waterline with a white or peach-colored eyeliner (see green/purple look)

– Curl your lashes to widen your eyes.

Products used:

– Milani Shadow Eyez Pencil in Brown Deluxe

– Wet ‘n Wild Color Icon Palettes in I’m Getting Sunburned: bright gold, dark brown and Walking on Eggshells: highlight shade

– Milani HD Advanced Lip Color in Classy Nude

– NYX Megashine Lipgloss in Natural

ImageImageImage

4. Bring the focus to your eyes with a nude/natural lip color. Image

5. Don’t forget eyebrows, but don’t make them compete with your glasses. If you have thick or brightly colored frames, don’t overdraw your eyebrows.

DSCN2542

I’m definitely not a professional, but these are some tips and tricks I’ve learned to help my eyes stand out behind thick frames. I hope you learned something useful 🙂 Please let me know what you thought or suggestions for future looks in the comments below! Cheers ♥

~Olive

 

12 Responses to “Makeup for Glasses!”

  1. Nichole Lillian Ryan January 9, 2015 at 5:12 pm #

    So helpful, I would love to know where you got your glasses still looking for “that pair” for myself. 😊

    • Olivia January 12, 2015 at 4:27 pm #

      Oh my gosh, this was so long ago but thank you!! I got them in the optical department of Mayo Clinic but this shape seems to be pretty popular right now if you go take a look through your place 🙂

Think inside the box!

