Makeupstorming: Pageant Makeup

14 Aug

My friend is competing in a beauty pageant in November, so I came over to practice makeup for the various dresses she’ll be wearing and to teach her a bit of neutral makeup technique. Teaching makeup is difficult, especially because most people seem to think it’s either a) incredibly easy and requiring no more than 10 bottles of goop and powder or b) rocket science requiring a degree in astrophysics and inorganic chemistry. I’ve learned that I’m not a very good teacher, so it’s something I need to work on. Oh well, on to the photographs!

The first appearance she’ll be making onstage is in an edgy silver dress, so we decided on something suitably dramatic to match. The lashes we used were awful; hopefully we can get our hands on better ones before the pageant.

ImageImageImage

She’ll be using a variation of this neutral look for next week’s photoshoot:

ImageImageImageImage

I’d never done makeup on monolids before, so the whole session was as much training for me as it was for her. I had some fun and got a better idea of how to do makeup for eyes with no creases; it was actually a lot easier to do eyeliner without having to bother with annoying little outer-eye creases, but it was strange applying eyeshadow without the reference point of a crease or visible socket line. Now I’m just whining πŸ™‚ Thanks to A for being my canvas and good luck in the pageant!

~Olive

5 Responses to “Makeupstorming: Pageant Makeup”

  1. gothicbeeza August 15, 2013 at 2:08 am #

    Hey I’ve nominated you for the Liebster Award :). Can’t wait to read your answers: http://darkbeautymakeup.wordpress.com/2013/08/15/ive-been-nominated-for-the-liebster-award/

    • Olivia August 15, 2013 at 8:30 am #

      Thank you! I really appreciate it πŸ™‚

  2. pearlsnheels August 14, 2013 at 9:49 pm #

    The Silver Eye Shadow Looks Incredible! πŸ™‚

    • Olivia August 15, 2013 at 1:01 am #

      Thank you! I’ll pass it on πŸ™‚

Think inside the box!

