Odd Thomas Review

13 Aug

This book was weird. And I liked it.

I mentioned a while back that I was trying to get back into reading, and this book was great for that purpose. It was unassuming enough to avoid scaring me off and just strange enough to draw me in.

Odd Thomas (yep, that’s his real name, as he explains in detail in his introduction) narrates his own story, the story of a 20 year-old short-order cook in the fictional California town of Pico Mundo. He is ordinary in every way, apart from possessing the ability to see and silently communicate with spirits. Aided by his soul mate and confidante Stormy Llewellyn, he reluctantly takes it upon himself to send the dead to the next life by completing their unfinished business on earth (ex. tracking down their killers). When a stranger moves into the small town, Odd senses that something terrible is about to happen and searches for the source of his prophetic dreams to prevent the approaching tragedy.

If you’re worried that this book will veer too far toward fantasy/paranormal, don’t. It’s surprisingly and amusingly down-to-earth, Odd being the most likable and straightforward narrator I’ve ever “met.” It does include a few graphic and disturbing descriptions as any book with murderers and dead people must, so I’d say it’s a good choice for readers 16+. The vocabulary and writing style were fantastic; after a steady diet of books aimed at teens, it was incredibly refreshing to read something more challenging and thought-provoking. Odd Thomas was fast-paced, funny, and suspenseful; overall a great read, 4/5. I’m having my friend drop off the sequel tomorrow, so I’d be happy to review that as well as soon as I finish 🙂

Have you read Odd Thomas? I highly recommend it!

3 Responses to “Odd Thomas Review”

  1. natziwang August 13, 2013 at 1:38 pm #

    I’ll definitely check it out!

    • Olivia August 13, 2013 at 5:39 pm #

      Let me know what you think, it’s an interesting book!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mini-Reviews: What I’ve Been Watching/Reading/Listening To | Eye Have A Lot of Feelings - September 15, 2013

    […] Odd, Brother Odd: Sequels to Odd Thomas (my review here). My favorite so far has been Brother Odd, because the story takes place in a convent and it […]

Think inside the box!

