“I Used To Be So Cool” Confessions

6 Aug

I saw a post somewhere on the blogosphere about things that they used to be “too cool” for but now love, and I really wanted to try it. So here, for your viewing pleasure, are the reasons for my weird, stuck-up inner preppy girl still fighting to escape the bounds of more reasonable, weird-in-a-different way present-day me.

1. Caffeine-fueled all-nighters. You’d think as a student that I’d be endorsing these out the nose, but I was one of those people that valued sleep over studying. I still don’t study much, but I’ve found a new reason to stay up all night sipping coffee with my eyes glued to the screen. See below.

2. Fandoms. I wasn’t naive enough to think I was the only one who was incredibly, unhealthily obsessed with books, movies, TV shows, and fictional characters, but I saw myself as different from all the other drooling fangirls. At this point, having basically been internally liquified after experiencing 7 seasons of Supernatural in under a month, sending my friend screenshots every 15 seconds, I can safely assure the world that Olive is as much a drooling fangirl as the rest of you.

3. Shoes. I used to be of the mind that a girl only needs flip flops, sneakers, a pair of hideous things (think Crocs) for lawn mowing, and a pair of fancy schmancy ones for special occasions. And then I discovered wedges, and heels, and that amazing feeling of looking someone in the eyes instead of in the ambiguous neck/chest region. Now I’m hooked.

4. Makeup. Biggest confession ever, but up until about 2 years ago I thought makeup was for false little tweens with too much mascara and prostitutes. Then Youtube happened, and I realized that makeup is an art form and an amazing outlet for creativity. Now I’m obsessed. It’s taking my money, my time, and my sanity. Someone help me.

5. Being the parent. This one might seem a little strange, but all of the older-siblings-by-a-lot will get what I’m saying. You want to be the cool older sister or brother who lets their little charges eat an entire bag of Halloween candy and have a Marvel marathon until 2 AM (heck, I’d like to do that most of the time), but sometimes you gotta bring out the big guns. Scary voice, counting to 3, consequences…the whole deal. I feel a bit guilty sometimes, but if I’m not there to parent them, who’s going to? Oh, right, the actual parent. Over there sipping a Dr. Pepper and reading Better Homes and Gardens. That one.

6. Music. I’m not a “music is life the universe and everything to me” kinda gal, but I love a night of kicking back and listening to loud, angry, and occasionally depressing music whilst munching chips in accompaniment. It started a few years ago, along for the ride with the hormones and the hair in weird places. I used to think sad music was the cause of sad thoughts and sad people, but now I think it’s a way of coping. It’s art you don’t have to be good at to enjoy.

I should stop before this post goes on forever, so what are your guys’ confessions? What did you used to think was lame but now love?

4 Responses to ““I Used To Be So Cool” Confessions”

  1. lindseysurratt August 6, 2013 at 10:57 am #

    I totally get the whole being a parent thing as I’m an oldest sibling of two sisters. I always wanted them to think I was so cool but now I don’t really care about that as long as they are taken care of. Great post!

    • Olivia August 6, 2013 at 11:09 am #

      Same, glad someone knows the feeling 😀 Thanks!

  2. suzie81 August 6, 2013 at 7:22 am #

    The Smiths. I used to hate them, now I love them – I turned 30 and suddenly I thought they were great!

    • Olivia August 6, 2013 at 8:32 am #

      Haha I can relate, my tastes have evolved a lot since I started getting into music. It happens 🙂

Think inside the box!

