Dude, Where’s the Pie? (Or: My Feelings on Exercise)

4 Aug

Yesterday I went on a 36-mile bike ride on a trail in sunny MN that runs parallel to a river. Call me pathetic, but it was the longest and most grueling distance I’ve ever biked and I was just about ready to jump off the cliff and into the river by the end…er, middle of it. In contrast, my 48 year-old mother was biking along humming to herself as if what seemed like a considerable distance to me was a walk in the park. As we finally scooted into our destination, I was dehydrated, my legs were ready to jump ship and flee from cramps, and I really, really wanted pie.

This description sums up my feelings, in general, about exercise.

I had some time to think whilst pedaling furiously across miles of gravely expanse, so I thought about this. People exercise for a variety of reasons, but it usually boils down to health concerns, routine, or “because I like it.” I have never understood that last one. Exercise is supposed to give you endorphins, but I’ve become convinced my body refuses to produce them because the only high I’ve ever gotten from working my *ss off is the one where I stand under the shower for an hour afterward and stuff my face with, you guessed it,

Not simultaneously, of course. Although…that does sound nice.

I hate exercise, friends, but I love pie. So I drove to Trader Joes and bought myself a fine specimen of strawberry rhubarb goodness, drove home, and ate half of it.

Going on 3/4ths. Pie marathons should be a thing.

Cheers my fellow pie enthusiasts, and have a lazy, lazy Sunday 🙂 I’m certainly going to.

7 Responses to “Dude, Where’s the Pie? (Or: My Feelings on Exercise)”

  1. hannie10h August 6, 2013 at 7:04 am #

    So how does Nordic fit into this?

    • Olivia August 6, 2013 at 8:28 am #

      Eh, it’s passable.

  2. theunicahija August 4, 2013 at 11:35 am #

    Hahaha I love this post. I burst out laughing when i read “I really really wanted pie” 😀 I actually like exercising, although it is difficult, and I’ve been going to the gym regularly. The only problem is, I can’t stop eating! Not pies (although I am craving now!), but ice cream. I finished an entire pint in a day; not in one go—like, breakfast, lunch and dinner. 😛 Ohhh why did food have to be so good??

    • Olivia August 5, 2013 at 12:14 am #

      I’m glad you liked it 😀 Ice cream is an addicting substance..well, food in general is. That’s really admirable though, I wish I had the self-motivation to exercise regularly. And then not eat pie :\

  3. lindseysurratt August 4, 2013 at 10:42 am #

    Right there with ya girl! 🙂

    • Olivia August 4, 2013 at 11:09 am #

      Haha thanks, that’s good to know 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Appreciation Post | Eye Have A Lot of Feelings - August 19, 2013

    […] much! Blogging has been the best thing ever (no, really, EVER…except maybe pie) and I hope to continue for a loooong time. When I started I thought I’d only post about […]

Think inside the box!

