I’m Back! Valleyfair, Mall of America, and My 1st Sephora Experience :D

28 Jul

Hello everyone, the Olive is back from her vacation-of-sorts! I’m really looking forward to catching up on everyone’s weekend posts. Here’s a semi-brief recap of my weekend:

Friday: packing, packing, finding missing hairbrush, forgetting toothpaste, packing, and we’re off! Before I left I discovered that an eyeshadow palette I’d ordered a few weeks ago on Amazon that had arrived smashed had been replaced, so the day started on a good note πŸ™‚

Unfortunately traffic was horrendous, at least for us small-townies, but we made it. Once we arrived in the cities, we checked into our hotel (vey noice) and went to dinner at a Japanese grill (read: sushi) nearby. It was quite tasty and almost made up for the fact that I had to sleep next to my sister, who kicks viciously.

Saturday: Valleyfair! This was possibly the worst day we could have chosen to go, because it was cold and disturbingly overcast. We arrived, got tickets, and were just boarding the ferris wheel when it started to pour on our poorly-equipped (read: shorts, t-shirts, and sunny attitudes) heads. We spent the next half-hour in a blind panic, trying to find the nearest store so we could purchase overpriced jackets. Just as we had lost most of our dignity and were preparing to buy shirts with “Camp Snoopy” plastered across them in glittery, rhinestone-y glory, we found some moderately priced jackets and hoodies. And thank heavens for small mercies, they had our sizes.

After the jacket experience, it stopped raining and the sun made a cameo appearance. We headed determinedly toward the roller coasters and rode almost every one save for the scary one that corkscrews up in a u-shape and actually shakes back and forth. Our favorites were the Renegade (wooden ones are my favorite) and the Wild Thing. I’m happy to report I’ve finally gotten over my fear of coasters πŸ˜€ We ate lunch at this really neat 50s style diner that served about 20 different types of hamburgers and had a working jukebox, then gorged ourselves on cotton candy.

Sunday: Mall of America. Given that half my family is under 10, we had to visit the aquarium, but I’ll admit it was fun after we passed the mobs of children intent upon poking each and every starfish in the tide pool. We had an intense debate on how a jellyfish ingests its food (does it have a stomach?), my sister got to be a know-it-all, I got to be a know-it-all-er, and it was an all-round ok time.

After that we split up, as my sister was eyeing the American Girl Store and I wanted (read: NEEDED) to visit Sephora. My brother drew the short straw and ended up accompanying me. He’s only 7 and I think most of the mall patrons thought I was his mother. I didn’t mind, because once I entered that store, it was Olivia nirvana. So many colors! So many products! I had swatches halfway up my arm before I realized that everything in there was well over my price range. I had a grab at the Urban Decay Naked Palette but hadn’t brought enough to buy it. I’m hoping to purchase it online soon along with a few of their amazing 24/7 eyeliners. Gaaah.

My brother was a good sport about all the makeup ogling and even helped point out some things I could actually afford. He seemed very knowledgeable about which colors I should get. I like him more now.

I managed to leave without buying anything (sad face), poked around at Ikea for a few hours (boring), and drove home. Feels good to be back πŸ™‚

Well, that was my weekend, how was yours?

5 Responses to “I’m Back! Valleyfair, Mall of America, and My 1st Sephora Experience :D”

  1. thetrickyniki July 29, 2013 at 10:32 am #

    Ohhh I can’t wait till my first trip to Sephora! Sounds like you had a nice time.

    • Olivia July 29, 2013 at 11:49 am #

      I did! You’ll love it, there’s so many things to look at and swatch πŸ™‚

  2. natziwang July 28, 2013 at 9:40 pm #

    Your brother is adorable. It sounds like a really fun weekend, despite the rain. =)

    • O July 28, 2013 at 9:43 pm #

      It was quite the experience…:)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I’m Not Fun-Size, I’m Just Short (Or: How to Be Intimidating Despite Your Lack of Verticality) | Eye Have A Lot of Feelings - August 8, 2013

    […] of you on the metric system, aka most of the world). I’m tall enough to ride rollercoasters (read all about it) and to drive without sitting on a phonebook, and that’s as tall as I’ll ever need to […]

Think inside the box!

