What I’ve Learned About Compliments

23 Jul

Today I’m skipping the intro and getting straight to the point: compliments are easy to give. They’re free and they work wonders to improve someone’s crappy day. What’s not to love?

I’ve met people who are uneasy about giving compliments, as if it’s a sign of weakness or jealousy to let someone know that they look pretty today or that they’re really good at a sport or a certain subject in school. I can personally attest to the fact that, as a female, I a) love getting complimented on pretty much anything (I’ve been told I have a very admirable sneeze. I’ll take it.) and b) I actually enjoy knowing that someone envied something about me enough to comment on it. It’s a bit twisted if you think about it, but so is my entire gender.

Another complaint is that we’re born with certain traits that we can’t do much about, so there’s no use complimenting someone on something they had nothing to do with. True, but consider the fact that the person you’re complimenting may not like that particular feature. I told someone they had a nice nose a few weeks ago (in a non-creeper way, I assure you πŸ™‚ ) and they thanked me and sheepishly admitted that they’d always disliked it.

Another thing: receiver of compliments, please don’t try to milk the compliment for all it’s worth or insist that it’s not true. That’s just insulting to the person who took time out of their busy busy life to make you feel a bit better about yours. If you keep railing on about how fat you are even after I’ve told you that you’re not, I will start agreeing with you. You know who you are.

Lastly, don’t be shy about giving them. I guarantee that if your compliment is genuine, it will be well-received πŸ™‚ Otherwise, refer to the above paragraph.

Well there you have it, one more rant for this lovely Tuesday. Cheers everyone!

4 Responses to “What I’ve Learned About Compliments”

  1. lindseysurratt July 23, 2013 at 1:13 pm #

    What a lovely post! (Yes, our entire gender is of the twisted sort).

    • O July 23, 2013 at 5:54 pm #

      Thank you and thanks for reading:) haha it’s true!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. More than the applause of the multitude | On (or close to) Schedule - August 7, 2013

    […] What I’ve Learned About Compliments […]

  2. Why Women Can’t Take a Compliment…. | Confessions of a Womanist - July 23, 2013

    […] What I've Learned About Compliments (eyehavealotoffeelings.wordpress.com) […]

Think inside the box!

