My Makeup Journey

20 Jul

I started taking makeup seriously when I was 15, only a year and a half ago. I started out with a bang…a terrible, terrible bang. I’d like to think I’ve gotten better since then, but I’ll let you decide in this slideshow chronicling my makeup journey…warts & all!

My earliest looks were photographed with my iPhone, which I love for almost everything…photography not included. Graininess to the maxxx.

Image

Image

Apparently blending in any way was taboo. And we’re not even going to mention my eyebrows.

Image

Gold + pink + inexperience = hot mess. If I were to redo it, I’d a) pluck those darn eyebrows and b) bring the color in farther and blend it better. Maybe some winged eyeliner as well…I wasn’t as confident with eyeliner back then.

Image

Blue eyeliner is still my go-to look, but not with orange eyeshadow.

Image

Ugh. One of the earliest looks I came up with. Leopard print eyes…cute in theory. My latest leopard print eyes here (they’re neon and exciting!).

Image

I was proud of this one…circa September 2012. I still hadn’t gotten the hang of eyebrows or blending, but I still like the rainbow eyeliner idea.Image

Blehck. It looks like my eyes got a wing-shaped bruise 😦

Image

Last Thanksgiving’s look. It looks a bit wild here because the gold in the gradient (above the crease) showed up as orange 😦 It looked better in person and I received my first familial compliments (my mother thinks makeup is frivolous). I still wasn’t a huge fan of eyebrow maintenance or liquid eyeliner and so avoided it when I could.

Image

Colorblocking makeup I did around March. It was one of those times when I sat down and slapped colors on my face. It’s not a favorite but I had to include it because…I finally started using liquid eyeliner! Badly, but I did. Self-five!

Image

Slightly better attempt at neutral makeup with blue eyeliner. My latest attempt at this concept here.

Makeup I did on my lovely friend Elizabeth in early January 2013. She made it gorgeous 🙂

Image

Squiggly eyeliner. It looks terrible up close after a long day of school (yes, I wore this to school. Glasses made it slightly less…wah-bam) but it was exciting nevertheless.

Image

Sun-inspired makeup and my first attempt to using pressed eyeshadows wet. Moral of the story: don’t. The shadow formed an unusable crust that had to be scraped off. Fun stuff.

Image

Jungle princess makeup from March 2013. I finally got the hang of liquid eyeliner!!

Iron Man makeup for Iron Man 3. This was an exciting one:)

This is turning into a serious novel, so I’ll write a part 2 later on. Do you have your own makeup journeys?

4 Responses to “My Makeup Journey”

  1. White Pearl July 20, 2013 at 10:49 am #

    wow Love what you do to your eyes ! So unique and beautiful really you look stunning girl 🙂 xx

    • O July 20, 2013 at 7:52 pm #

      Thank you!! I was a bit uncomfortable sharing my early attempts at makeup but I really appreciate the positive comment 🙂

      • White Pearl July 21, 2013 at 2:43 am #

        you look lovely and you should share 🙂 xx

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Makeup Journey Part 2 | Eye Have A Lot of Feelings - July 21, 2013

    […] Part 1 here. […]

Think inside the box!

