Burying Friends

17 Jul

My friend and I have had guinea pigs for a while, and they’ve been steadily growing older and more crotchety. Today one of her older rescue pigs died of kidney failure, a common cause of death for elderly piggies. In a ritual that is becoming all too familiar, she carried her pig to a field across the road from her house and dug a grave by a small pine tree. There she buried her alpha pig, the sassiest and most inquisitive piggie I’ve ever had the pleasure of knowing. Four trees in the field are home to such graves; three are hers and one is mine.

In the heat of the day we adorned the fresh grave with flowers stolen from my friend’s mother’s vase. My friend handed me a long-stemmed rose and motioned to Leia’s tree. I stepped carefully over the nettles and into the nest of thistles that encircle her tree. You always did look good in purple, my black piggie. I lay the rose under the tree and step back. There is nothing more for me to do here. It has been a year since she died and the ache in my chest has long since passed. But my friend’s pain is fresh, and so I stay.

There are few feelings worse than that of standing over the grave of a beloved pet. I’m tired of burying friends, and I always vow that I’ll never get another pet. But in time the ache fades and we desire the companionship that comes with an animal that worships us and squeaks in happiness (or hunger) at our approach.

R.I.P. Oreo

10 Responses to “Burying Friends”

  1. gothicbeeza July 17, 2013 at 11:30 pm #

    Oh god, I buried our guinea pig Rodney just a few weeks ago and it broke my heart. I still have my two bunnies, but I just don’t have the heart to replace him. I feel your pain 😦

    • O July 18, 2013 at 3:41 pm #

      I’m sorry for your loss:( A lot of people asked me if I was going to get another guinea pig after Leia died but no one will ever replace her…

  2. rumpydog July 17, 2013 at 5:48 pm #

    I’m sorry for your loss……xxx

    • O July 17, 2013 at 6:42 pm #

      Thank you, it means a lot.

  3. gudbyeboredom July 17, 2013 at 10:51 am #

    That’s sad.But atleast he was lucky to have spent his life with a good friend.

  4. hookonhooked July 17, 2013 at 8:51 am #

    Oh. . .and, wrong “write” above. . .I started writing before coffee and thinking.

    • O July 17, 2013 at 9:15 am #

      I know the feeling :\

    • O July 17, 2013 at 9:15 am #

      I know the feeling :\

  5. hookonhooked July 17, 2013 at 8:50 am #

    Olivia, you right about real things that matter. . along with your strong and creative voice, you’re relevant.

    • O July 17, 2013 at 9:15 am #

      Thank you:)

Think inside the box!

