My This Year’s Resolutions

16 Jul

New Year’s resolutions are full of crap. The number one most popular resolution is to lose weight, and as many years as that’s been on my list, I haven’t accomplished squat. So, I decided to put my own spin on the dreaded resolutions by putting aside all of my not-gonna-happen goals and focusing on the doable ones for the coming school year.

1. Straight A’s. It may have escaped your notice as the majority of my posts are makeuppy things or rants about my life, but I’m really quite nerdy. Not in the if-I-don’t-get-a-full-ride-into-Harvard-I’ll-throw-myself-in-front-of-a-bus nerdy, but I’ve done well in school so far and I want to keep it that way. They say junior year is the turning point in high school, and I’m straddling 5 AP classes for the first time. This may (ok, will) sound pathetic to those of you in college or out in the world, but I really do care about the numbers and letters on my report card. I’m lazy, and sometimes I’m just not in the mood to work hard, but knowing I can do well and failing despite it is a feeling that I want to avoid if at all possible this coming year.

2. Study for the SATs. This may sound like a no-brainer, but again, I’m a special kind of lazy. I’m not the type to take the test a few times beforehand to get the feel for it, but my friends are and if there’s one thing that beats laziness, it’s competition. Hopefully that’ll be enough to motivate me to actually prepare for the test :\

3. Be a bit more social. I’m not the social type, but I get invited to a lot of events that I end up turning down because I “just don’t feel like it.” I’ve taken a chance on a few of them and ended up actually having a good time (gasp), so I’m hoping that I can temporarily set aside the stress about grades and tests and just enjoy myself this year. It’s just school, right? How bad could it be? Famous last words.

4. Expand my musical tastes. This might seem unrelated to school, but music can drastically affect my moods. I have a different playlist for every day of the week based on how I predict I’ll feel and how I want to feel. For example, I anticipate comatose-depressive Olive on Mondays, so I counteract it with inspiring songs like “Don’t Stop Believin” and “I Just Can’t Wait to Be King.” Yeah, I have a lot of Disney. Wednesdays are for my songs without words. Friday is the day to rock out in the bus seat to anything fast and exciting. I start and end every day with music, so I want my playlist to be full of good stuff šŸ˜€

5. Develop an appreciation for pants. During the summer, I’m not required to wear pants. Come September, this glorious truth goes out the window. We’re in a bit of a love-hate relationship as of now, but I’m hoping that’ll change with the addition of a rainbow of options rapidly piling up in my closet. This one may very well be the most unattainable resolution on this list!

How I start my day after summer classes.

What are your resolutions for this year (or have you given up on the whole institution)? Have a wonderful rest of the summer everyone šŸ™‚

2 Responses to “My This Year’s Resolutions”

  1. gudbyeboredom July 16, 2013 at 12:35 pm #

    I don’t make resolutions anymore, unless you count not making a resolution a resolution. šŸ˜‰

    • O July 16, 2013 at 1:23 pm #

      I try not to as well, but sometimes I need to remind myself of what I need to accomplish :/

Think inside the box!

