Why I Hate Romance Stories

13 Jul

Admit it, sometimes you’re just in the mood to watch or read something romantic, even with the knowledge that you’ll regret it.

Every time I go to the bookstore, I try to balance my purchases between one “grown-up book” (ex. Dan Brown, not that kind of grown-up novel;)), one “young adult” book, and one cutesy, predictable romance novel. You know the type. There’s a picture of a pair of converse shoes on the front, or maybe the top of some chick’s head. And I go home and read it, and it’s cutesy and predictable.  Love triangles. Forbidden love. Girl-gets-guy. Same characters, same motivations, same contrived happy ending. And I hate it. But I always buy more.

Same thing with movies. The Notebook, for example. I made the mistake of actually purchasing the DVD. Watched it once, hated it. But I don’t get nauseous when I think of watching it again, despite featuring such memorable, heart-stopping lines as “If you’re a bird, I’m a bird.” Maybe it’s because the material is so predictable that I can flip the off switch in my brain and watch it in full-on zombie mode. Either way, as I’m skimming my horrifically, embarrassingly vast collection of movies, I always hear a little nagging voice in the back of my head that pulls me toward the romance section. The movie-watching experience is without fail the most awful out of all the genres, but like I said, you don’t have to think. You don’t have to have your heart in your throat, heart beating with the rhythms of the suspenseful music and interspersed gunshots, because you simply don’t care. 

If you know me at all, you’ll know that I’m not really the romance type. I’m too much of a realist to believe in all the fairytale nonsense in these books and movies, so what’s the allure? Why do I continue to absorb them like a sponge when I end up hating them to my core? Maybe I think that this one will be different. This one won’t disappoint me. This one won’t make me gag on my own tongue.

Today, I say enough.

12 Responses to “Why I Hate Romance Stories”

  1. Hairy-minded Bear July 15, 2013 at 12:12 pm #

    I know what you mean about them all being the same. You should check out YA “The Local Color” by Jennifer Brightside on Amazon. While it might have the whole love-triangle thing going on, the characters are so crazy quirky that it still feels kinda like something new.

    • O July 15, 2013 at 12:29 pm #

      Thanks for the suggestion! I’ll go check it out:)

  2. gudbyeboredom July 14, 2013 at 9:35 am #

    I’m not a fan of romance novels either. I don’t think I’ve read more than 10 such novels in my whole life (including the twilight series). I think out of all that the there’s only one book that I’ll read again and that’s Atonement by Ian McEwan.

    • O July 15, 2013 at 12:29 pm #

      They can be a bit painful to get through :\ Would you recommend Atonement?

      • gudbyeboredom July 15, 2013 at 12:34 pm #

        It takes a little time to finish but it’s good. I liked it but I’ve heard others say its slow and lengthy. So I suggest that you try a sample version if possible before you buy the book.

        • O July 15, 2013 at 12:34 pm #

          I think I will, thanks for the suggestion!

        • O July 15, 2013 at 12:34 pm #

          I think I will, thanks for the suggestion!

          • gudbyeboredom July 15, 2013 at 12:40 pm #

            My pleasure.
            In case you decide not to read then you can just watch the movie, it’s pretty good.

          • O July 15, 2013 at 12:41 pm #

            Ooo, tempting…

          • gudbyeboredom July 15, 2013 at 12:42 pm #

            🙂

  3. girlywithdacurl July 13, 2013 at 8:59 pm #

    Mmhmm! You say it gurl! PREACH!

    • O July 13, 2013 at 8:59 pm #

      Haha I will 🙂

Think inside the box!

