Inferno Review

7 Jul

I stayed up until 2 powering through Dan Brown’s new book Inferno. Long review short, I loved it. Instead of raving about it (which I may very well do), I decided I’d do a semi-proper review for you wonderful people. I’ll try not to reveal any important spoilers, which if you’re familiar with this author, is a difficult thing to do.

Inferno is based around Dante Alighieri’s (I just spell-checked that and it’s correct! Snaps for the Olive) Divine Comedy, a three-part epic detailing Dante’s descent into hell, purgatory, and ascent into heaven. As per usual with Dan Brown’s books, Inferno is sprinkled with interesting facts about the setting (Italy) and its history. As I am not a traveler or a history buff, I can’t speak for the accuracy of the facts, but I was duly impressed with the amount of research that must’ve gone into the book.

The book started with a bang, but the action fell away for the majority of the book until the very end. It wasn’t boring to read per se, but it required a bit of patience. However, the premise is really interesting; the overarching theme is that of several prominent organizations trying to find an ethical (or not) solution to global overpopulation. It is very easy to get caught up in this book!

I did find that I wasn’t as fond of the characters as I was in previous novels. They’re all somewhat dishonest with ulterior motives that steadily reveal themselves as the book progresses. The central character, Robert Langdon, is as always clever and determined, revealing clues with his signature wry sense of humor. For an added twist, Langdon wakes up in a hospital with amnesia and strange visions, so it takes him a large part of the book to regain his confidence in solving the unfolding mystery.

If you’ve read Dan Brown’s previous books, it should come as no surprise that Inferno ends with a twist. For the first time ever, I actually predicted what that twist would be, so it wasn’t as shocking as it was intended to be, but still interesting. I want to give it away, but I’ll be good 🙂

To put it simply, this book really makes you think. It begins with this quote by Dante:

“The darkest places in hell are reserved for those who maintain their neutrality in times of moral crisis”

and from there, continues to criticize the human race’s denial of the threat of overpopulation. I enjoyed this book despite a few slow areas because the theme was so interesting and the history really drew me in (and I hate history, so that came as a surprise). Overall a 4.5/5 and a definite reread. Did you enjoy Inferno as much as I did?

5 Responses to “Inferno Review”

  1. gudbyeboredom July 7, 2013 at 10:53 pm #

    Nice review. The book makes you think about the situation doesn’t it? What will we do with over population and can we actually do something in reality before it’s too late?

    • Olivia July 7, 2013 at 10:54 pm #

      It does!! I wonder if the outcome of the book is even a possibility…:\

    • Olivia July 7, 2013 at 10:54 pm #

      It does!! I wonder if the outcome of the book is even a possibility…:\

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. USA Today: This Weeks Top 150 Best Selling Books | Chronically Bored - July 8, 2013

    […] Inferno Review (eyehavealotoffeelings.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Selfish Shellfish | Eye Have A Lot of Feelings - July 8, 2013

    […] reading Inferno by Dan Brown (my review here), I latched on to a particular discussion Langdon and his partner-in-crime Dr. Brooks were having […]

Think inside the box!

