The Lone Ranger Review

6 Jul

I just saw The Lone Ranger and felt the need to review it 😀 No serious spoilers will be mentioned!

In the words of my mother, this movie was “very Johnny-Deppish.” If you want a brief summary of the movie, that would be it. Several times during the movie I had to remind myself that this was not, in fact, Pirates of the Caribbean. Depp played his usual quirky character, in this instance a Comanche Indian who acts as a mentor to the newly deputized Texas Ranger John Reid (Armie Hammer). Reid was a polished-and-proper lawyer from the East, so he had a comical introduction to the lawless ways of the West.

I am a bit biased against this movie because I generally don’t like westerns, but there was enough humor and action in The Lone Ranger to overpower the predicted onslaught of gunpowder, sexism, and saliva. I haven’t seen the original Lone Ranger, so I can’t compare the two, but I did notice that despite being the titular character, Reid didn’t really get into character until the end of the movie; even then, he retained some semblance of pacifism. Depp’s character Tonto, on the other hand, remained carelessly bad*ss throughout the entirety of the film. I found myself sympathizing with Tonto a lot more than with Reid or his love interest (the wife of his brother, how intriguing), which is slightly unfortunate on the writers’ part.

Given that the original Lone Ranger was made in the 50s, I’ll go out on a limb and say the remake ranked considerably higher in the visual arena. The intense action sequences made this movie exciting even for those (like me) who don’t like classic Westerns.

It’s hard to review this without giving away the twists and turns, but I found the plot a little predictable and generically Western; the good guys are outlaws and the bad guys are the greedy railroad and mining company owners. Even so, it was entertaining, suspenseful, funny, and just generally satisfying. I’d give it a 3/5 and I’d rewatch it, especially surrounded by popcorn and friends.

5 Responses to “The Lone Ranger Review”

  1. madgirlblue200 July 7, 2013 at 8:40 am #

    Haven’t seen this one yet but I got to meet some of the extra characters when it was being filmed. I was on vacation sin the Moab desert where it was insufferably hot. (Yes we went there on purpose) but anyway you should really watch 3:10 to Yuma because it is the best western I’ve ever seen.

    • Olivia July 7, 2013 at 10:24 am #

      That must’ve been an interesting experience:) Thanks for the recommendation, I’ll order it on netflix asap!

  2. CMrok93 July 6, 2013 at 5:46 pm #

    Good review. It’s pretty much just a total bore from beginning to end. Rarely did I ever find myself having a good time, with the exception of maybe the last 15 minutes or so.

    • Olivia July 6, 2013 at 6:04 pm #

      Thanks! I agree, I honestly really wanted to like this movie but it wasn’t as great as I expected:\ It did pick up towards the end!

  3. Fffffgg July 6, 2013 at 6:38 am #

    Oh

Think inside the box!

